Failed to read data from the disk

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by yamaneko, Jan 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yamaneko

    yamaneko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    53
    Suddenly TI has started report this when I trying to do incremental backup:

    I have done chkdsk c: /r and there were no errors. Anything I can do?

    Windows Vista, True Image 11 Home
     
  2. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    If it's been working fine but suddenly won't, then my guess, and it's just a guess, is that the sector in question is bad but not bad enough that chkdsk and Windws can't read it after repeated attempts (I think they do 7 retries before deciding a sector is unreadable). However, the secotr is bad enough that ATI can't handle it (maybe ATI only does 3 retries or something else less than Windows and chkdsk, which would explain why ATI fails to read/write on disks that other programs using Win OS calls handle just fine).

    You could try moving the file using that sector and then marking the sector bad if you have low level disk manager. And then see if ATI can handle the disk okay. If so, then yuo can get a new disk or a new backup program.
     
  3. yamaneko

    yamaneko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    53
    Thank you.

    How can I find out what file use that sector? Any recommendation for low level disk manager?
     
  4. FlopHead

    FlopHead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    You can try to use Acronis Disk Editor included into Acronis Disk Director.
     
  5. dantz

    dantz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Posts:
    991
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Chkdsk c: /r only checks partition C. However, the error message refers to "hard disk 2", which may not be your boot drive. Perhaps it is referring to your target drive. Have you run chkdsk /r on the other drives and/or partitions?
     
  6. yamaneko

    yamaneko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    53
    Yes I have, although target drive is different hard disk.
     
  7. dantz

    dantz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Posts:
    991
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Take a look at your chkdsk logs in Event Viewer. It should be under Application|WinLogon. Are there any errors or bad sectors listed?

    If you've already successfully run chkdsk /r on both the source and the target and the problem remains, then I think you'd better contact Acronis technical support. That's an Acronis error message, not a Windows message, so the problem might be due to an unusual software issue rather than an actual hard disk read error. Are you saving to a USB drive? It could also be due to a driver incompatibility or something like that.

    You could also try saving the image to a different location, just to see what happens.

    Edit:
    Note this similar thread:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=198221

    2nd Edit:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=197396
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2008
  8. yamaneko

    yamaneko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    53
    Well, what now? I do not understand what to do. :oops:
    Screenshot
     
  9. yamaneko

    yamaneko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    53
    It seems that I fixed this with chkdsk c: /B -command. It find 5 not indexed files (and maybe fixed something else, I did not watch so attentively). Anyway, now I did new full backup without errors :)

    I think there were truly some erros in disk because Windows Complete PC failed too. That is why I re-run chkdsk.
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2008
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.