Failed to open Acronis secure zone for exclusive access

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by al1974, Jun 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. al1974

    al1974 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Updated from TI11 Home to TI Home 2009. Now all of my backup tasks, both scheduled and unscheduled, fail with this message:
    “Failed to open Acronis secure zone for exclusive access.”

    From what I see I don't need Acronis secure zone. If I have to restore I can just use a bootable restore disk.
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello al1974,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis True Image Home!

    In order to resolve this problem you can try one of the following:
    1. Recreate Acronis Secure Zone;
    2. Download and install Acronis SnapAPI380 driver update for Acronis True Image Home 2009.

    Acronis Secure Zone is useful when you want to protect your backups from viruses and unauthorized access. Also you can activate Acronis Startup Recovery Manager for this Zone that allows you to boot your PC and use Acronis True Image Home 2009 without any bootable rescue media even if your Operating System is crashed.

    Thank you.
    Daniel Pustovoy
     
  3. al1974

    al1974 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Newest drivers didn't do it. I'll try to recreate the trusted zone, but I'll make it very small because I don't actually want to use it and don't want to use all that hard drive space.
    Al
     
  4. mark_p

    mark_p Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    I've got the same problem. Are you saying that I need to create a Secure Zone even though it is not needed at all? This is different behaviour to V11. What exactly is the Secure Zone used for in 2009 if I'm only backing up to an external USB drive, and how big should I make it?
     
  5. mark_p

    mark_p Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    OK, I've downloaded the new drivers and set up a Secure Zone, I'm still getting the “Failed to open Acronis secure zone for exclusive access.” message for any scheduled or unscheduled backup.

    Any idea what is going on? V11 seemed to be much more stable than this, I feel like I've wasted my money upgrading.
     
  6. mark_p

    mark_p Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    I think I may have found what is going on. When you upgrade from V11 to 2009 it looks like your scheduled tasks have been copied across correctly. In fact they haven't, you can't edit them. If you try to run the task it tries to back up to the Secure Zone.

    The solution is to delete your tasks and re-create them using the wizard. 2009 should have imported the scheduled tasks from V11 correctly IMO, it gives the impression it has. In fact if I had a Secure Zone already set up I would think that the backups were being made to my external drive, in fact they would have been made to the Secure Zone instead.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    When upgrading from Acronis True Image 11 Home, tasks are not ported to Acronis True Image Home 2009. Also, it will not be possible to edit tasks created with Acronis True Image 11 Home, and previously created scheduled tasks must be recreated following the upgrade.

    mark_p, we are glad to hear that you have found it.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.