Fail to Read Sector - Can't Create Image

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by awakeningsinc, Jul 19, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. awakeningsinc

    awakeningsinc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    When I create an image in Acronis 8 a dialog box opens and reads"
    E000101F4: Failed to read data from the disk.
    Failed to read from sector 1,295,605 of the hard disk1."

    I clicked on IGNORE and continued.

    Then a similar dialog box opens and reads a similar "Fail to read sector." It is another sector.

    NOW I clicked on IGNORE and continued.

    Nothing seems to continue.

    What can I do to complete creating an image to my external Maxtor USB hard drive?

    :rolleyes:
     
  2. tachyon42

    tachyon42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Posts:
    455
    Have you tried chkdsk /r (not /f option)
    What version of TI ?
     
  3. awakeningsinc

    awakeningsinc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    I am working with version 8, build 786.

    I ran chkdsk /r .

    It worked!

    It took about an hour to run chkdsk /r and complete creating the image for an 80 GB drive.

    :)
     
  4. tachyon42

    tachyon42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Posts:
    455
    Is your disk old?
    It's possible that your disk is starting to have problems so if you continue to get sector read errors you should consider a new disk.

    Your disk manufacturer website should have diagnostic software which will test the status of your drive.
    An alternative free product which I prefer (it will probably display more data than your disk manufacturer wants you to know) is to be found at:
    http://www.passmark.com/products/diskcheckup.htm
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2005
  5. Skinink66

    Skinink66 Guest

    I had the same problem and followed the tip about getting the Passmark Diskcheckup. After finding no problems with my physical hard disks I opened TrueImage and watched closly. The problem seems to be with the Maxtor drive. I was getting a hang there when TI was starting up.

    Right click on My Computer and click 'manage'. I had to repartition and reformat my Maxtor drive and that seemed to correct my problems at least. Hope this will help a little. I didn't have a ton of info on that drive to worry about having to backup first, as it was my backup drive anyway.

    John
     
  6. Bud Pritchard

    Bud Pritchard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    St Petersburg Fl
    Just started using lastest TI after trying trial.
    Creating images on Seagate 160GB USB drive.
    I kept getting corrupt images. Ran chkdsk /f and it found some bad sectors.
    Running TI again I still had problems with corrupt images.
    Finally after running SpinRite I was able to successfully run an image and verify. Looks like spinrite picked up problems chkdsk didn't.
    Same for my wife's laptop I imaged from the Boot disc.

    So, from now on i'll check my hard drive with SpinRite before imaging. I will usually image once a month. Or after a software install.

    I use a separate backup program for full/incremental cycles on my important data. Even my important data gets separatly burned to DVD-RW quarterly and CD-R at year end.
     
  7. jdzworld

    jdzworld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    is there not a trial version of this spinrite? it gives me the following error: "failed to read from the sector 0 of the hard disk 0". i tried cancelling this stupidly(it took me to my c: partition) and it just ended up giving me a bad image after burning many disks. this is a serial ata hd and its brand new as of like 3 months ago. i have no probs w/ anything on this cpu. i did goto error checking and pushed "scan for and attempt recovery of bad sectors" but i still get this error.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello jdzworld ,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    If you use the latest build and get the error message: "Failed to read from the sector 0 of the hard disk 0" please install the below update with disabled logging and see whether the problem persists.

    http://www.acronis.com/files/support/SnapAPI_s_e.exe

    If the problem does persist, please enable logging by running the update once more, reproduce the program failure and send the c:\snapapi.log file and Acronis Report (please see Acronis post for the detailed instructions) to support@acronis.com along with the link to this thread.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  10. jdzworld

    jdzworld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    thx 4 the help. i figured out (by researching the forums) that i just needed to put a blank zip disc in the drive b4 creating image. all is fine. thx.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.