Facebook offers HTTPS browsing, but not yet by default

Discussion in 'privacy general' started by MrBrian, Jan 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
  2. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Wonder how long it'll be before those "Account Settings” manually changed to https get changed back to http in another of their Many "upgrades" :p
     
  3. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,966
    Location:
    U.S.A.
     
  4. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Once again, this is initially unavailable to my account just like the Hotmail HTTPS.
     
  5. subhrobhandari

    subhrobhandari Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    708
    This is available in HTTPS-Everywhere add-on for FF for quite sometime, But most apps break if the Facebook+ is enabled.
     
  6. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    In Hotmail, click the dropdown next to your name, Select account. At the bottom, there should be a "Connect with HTTPS".

    I was one of the last to get it, so I'm sure everyone must have it now.
     
  7. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    It was already available for me, that's why I said initially.
     
  8. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,966
    Location:
    U.S.A.
     
  9. chrisretusn

    chrisretusn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,322
    Location:
    Philippines
    I just checked my account today.

    The "Browse Facebook on a secure connection (https) whenever possible" check box is now avaialble.

    Key words "whenever possible"

    JRViejo's post above is is quite approiate. Just because you are using https does not mean it is secure.
     
  10. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Most apps are not able to be added with https enabled. So a person has to go the long route of disabling https, installing the app, then re-enabling https....most people won't go for this and will just keep http.
     
  11. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    From Facebook's crude https workaround:
     
  12. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    That's somewhat useless. Then again, I STILL don't have the option, not sure if I'm the only one...

    edit: weird how it's enabled the second I make a post about it.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.