F-Secure

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by s4u, Nov 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. s4u

    s4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Posts:
    441
    I see more and more people using F-Secure around here. Is it really that good? Is it doing some good things?
     
  2. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,100
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Even though the cost is about the same, I prefer the AV with DeepGuard and Sandboxie over the suite.
     
  3. s4u

    s4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Posts:
    441
    But why F-secure?
    And why not the suite?
     
  4. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    i would also choose the AV over the suite, as i dont need such things as parental control etc.

    i dont think many people do use it on here,it tends to be mainly avira, nod and kaspersky on these boards, maybe you have seen my profile change and wondered? :p

    ~snipped....removed un-necessary idle chit chat....Bubba~
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 26, 2007
  5. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,296
    I used it for close to a year, and liked it. I have as much confidence in it as KIS, which I am using due to the special offers.

    I would not hesitate to return to it. It took a minute or so longer to load than most others, but ran very well when it updated and smoothed out after start. I found FS the best "Install and forget" AV and suite that I have used.

    I would probably go for the suite again if I returned to FS.

    PS
    I think there is an auction for 25 OEM FSIS still available. If I recall correctly the cost here in the US would end up being about $45 or so. At least I think that is GBP 13.99 plus about 4 or 5 more for shipping to the US.

    Best,
    Jerry
     
  6. tiagozt

    tiagozt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Posts:
    331
    FS is doing a very good job... A license can be used in 3 computers, in 2008 we don't have slow down as saw in previous versions.
    The only problem I already reported to FS is the updates frquency in weekends and holidays... (1 or 2 updates in 48hours). I believe if Kaspersky can do regular updates other companies can do the same despite use of heuristic.
    I think anyone should try FS (suite or not) and get their own conclusions.
     
  7. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,100
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    That is where DeepGuard comes in, it is sort of like a HIPS. Even between updates you are very well protected.
     
  8. tiagozt

    tiagozt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Posts:
    331
    trjam, I know... DeepGuard is very good as heuristic engine but sometimes it can't substitute signatures... F-Secure have a excelent combination signature + heuristic... It's the reason I think it's better than NOD32 (poor signatures, good* heuristic) and Kaspersky** (excelent signatures and poor heuristic).

    *Heuristic of NOD32 don't work for trojan made in Brazil and it's the reason I don't recommend the AV anymore. Otherwise they need many days or weeks to add signatures. It's the biggest mistake of ESET.

    **Kaspersky have now a Beta of new heuristic engine.

    F-Secure improving signature updates and maybe the heuristic, that is already very good now, will put the AV next to Avira, that I think in the moment is the best combination signatures + heuristic.

    Best regards.
     
  9. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    deepguard is heuristics / behavior blocker (hips)

    This was solely the reason why fsecure would better kaspersky in the retro tests, however kaspersky now have their own heuristics

    Deepguard tests very well as a hips if memory serves me right
     
  10. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,100
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    IBK rated DeepGuard very well. Read here
     
  11. tisungho

    tisungho Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    148
    I'm using it at the moment. So far so good. Although it takes longer time to start up compared to other suites, I don't notice any slowdown at all. I'm really feeling safe after installing it.
     
  12. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    cheers jeff, i knew my memory was correct :)

    his name really gets around, doesn't it? :rolleyes:
     
  13. ren

    ren Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Posts:
    45
  14. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    I believe it is being tested in their ISTP
     
  15. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    4,723
    Location:
    New York City
    Couple of questions:

    1. DeepGuard is included as part of the AV?
    2. The only price I see for the AV is 65.90 Euros on the website.
    Is this right? Seems expensive.

    Thanks.
     
  16. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    Yes deepguard is part of just the av,

    Good prices can be found elsewhere :)
     
  17. tec505

    tec505 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Posts:
    284
    Location:
    Romulus, class M planet
  18. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,086
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    In the F-Secure official eStore, use the Protect Your PC 50% discount to buy the F-Secure product of your choice (use this page: http://www.f-secure.com/protectyourpc). Then, during the purchase, change the currency to Indian Rupees (found on the left side of the order cart). Then you will receive a special discounted Indian price plus an extra 50% discount due to the Protect Your PC coupon. The prices work out as follows:

    F-Secure IS 2008, 12-month, 3 PC = 1700 INR = 42 USD approx + additional 50% discount due to PYPC coupon, which means the final price is 850 INR or around 22 dollars ;)
    F-Secure AV 2008, 12-month, 3 PC = 700 INR = 18 USD approx + additional 50% discount due to PYPC coupon, which means the final price is around 350 INR or around 9 dollars :)

    You will be billed in INR instead of US Dollars but the overall price still works out to be much lower than your average F-Secure license ;)
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2007
  19. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,100
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    It says page not found, appears eyes are watching.
     
  20. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
  21. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,100
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Dont see how. I just paid about $9.00 for 1-3 user 1 year license for the AV.;)
     
  22. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    how please explain??
     
  23. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    check your PM box.

    Or...

    listen to Firecat :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2007
  24. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,100
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    And if you buy a second and insert the key after installing the first, walla, you now have 2 years for $18.00;)
     
  25. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,086
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Page is working now....Seems the url link was put in wrongly in my previous post, sorry. :(

    URL is corrected now in the previous post, so everything should work properly :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.