F-Secure Ultralight Anti-virus BETA

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by SweX, Dec 15, 2014.

  1. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    F-Secure Ultralight Anti-Virus is our next generation security product. With this beta release we are piloting several new concepts:

    • Light-weight product, which utilizes cloud-based scanning
    • New modern user interface
    • Blazingly fast installation
    We guarantee this is something you have never seen before. Try it and send us feedback. We are eager to know your opinion about this product.

    Supported platforms, 3rd Dec 2014

    • Windows
      • Windows 7 (64-bit)
      • Windows 8 (64-bit)
      • Windows 8.1 (64-bit)
    https://beta.f-secure.com/callout/?callid=3DD8107B89024B80AD5D032636AF0B0A

    Forum thread: http://community.f-secure.com/t5/Home-Security/F-Secure-Ultralight-Anti-Virus/td-p/64532
     
  2. databb

    databb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Posts:
    14
    Excited to see what the future will be according to you guys :thumb:
     
  3. Tarantula

    Tarantula Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Posts:
    357
    Applied for the beta. Waiting for an answer. GL!
     
  4. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,237
    I've applied for beta testing too. It's awesome to see an av which has been designed to be very light.
     
  5. garrett76

    garrett76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    210
    Looks very nice and interesting. It would be great if there will be a free version ;)
     
  6. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Some posts over on their forum;

    1. "Bear in mind that this is a beta product. That means that you will be receiving more cutting-edge changes than a production product. I would advise against using any beta product on any system you would consider mission-critical."

    2. "To address your concerns related to both the Browsing Protection and Banking Protection functionality, this product utilizes the same network scanning technologies that those features in FSP use. We probably made a mistake naming the product "Antivirus", since it is actually a fully-featured security suite. When visiting a malicious site, this product will block the site completely and show a flyer to the user. For sites with unknown reputation, we scan all web traffic and are able to block known exploits. We also scan all executable content arriving over the network and will block anything malicious in that regard."

    3. "As far as our plans for this product go, it's still open. This beta is targetted as a concept and technology validation. There are no current plans to bring this particular product into our portfolio, and therefore no plans to make this a paid product. The underlying technologies will likely find their way into our existing Windows products".
     
  7. Tarantula

    Tarantula Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Posts:
    357
    Hmm, there are no options in this product. Just install and that's all? I really like to tweak my security software and never use it with default settings. I don't like the full screen UI. I'll try it for a couple of hours, but feel disappointed in general.

    Why security companies think the users are so dumb and lazy nowadays...
     
  8. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    Signed up
     
  9. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    install is fast, scanning is fast and doesn't use much disc space. I hope they tweak the UI currently it is full screen and has no settings to change. I prefer the old F-secure interface.
     
  10. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    Does this have some kind of local protection too i.e light local database or something like in BD & Panda Cloud free?
    Does DeepGuard works offline too like BD free Active Virus Control i.e internet disconnected?
    BD free AVC works offline too. I guess cloud connection is required for AVC to work in full capacity but it works offline too, I have tested it offline & works good.
    Is this going to be the free or paid version?
    Any ETA when it will be out of beta?
    Is DeepGuard too chatty? I see in AVComparatives Realtime tests there is quite a few percentage as user dependent. And FPs are also many.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2014
  11. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    @narenbisht

    See post #6 in this thread for some answers.

    Yes it does have a small local database.

    Regarding Deepguard chatty or not....
    It seems the product name Ultralight is not only about being "light" but also about that there isn't much to tweak...
     
  12. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,237
  13. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    [/QUOTE]

    I told everyone, that's the way things are progressing.
     
  14. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    imo this is stupid without a single option and auto removal. i also agree i will never use this.
     
  15. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,237
    Yes, it's happening a lot and is a real shame in my opinion.
     
  16. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Granted it's beta, but this thing is hideous.. Slows down PC, takes over entire desktop when you open it, etc..
     
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I find it interesting but to be called Ultralight well.

    2014-12-19_12-24-34.png

    2014-12-19_12-25-47.png
    TH
     
  18. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,299
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Well, as we have always said it will be hard to beat WSA for lightness & speed but it is good to see another significant vendor trying to...that is what keeps the market & the players therein on their feet.
     
  19. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Always Baldrick my friend and I like to check any of them out to see the new features and what not. And it runs fine with WSA.

    Cheers,

    Daniel :)
     
  20. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,299
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    That sounds like good news...but I suspect it has a way to go before it can provide decent competition...but then again...that is what betas are all about.
     
  21. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,237
    But RAM usage has nothing to do with lightness.

    I guess it does depend on your definiition of "lightness." But for me a light security product has very little impact on system performance (something that security products fail at mostly), and this has absouletly nothing at all do with RAM usage.
     
  22. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    We all have our own Opinion as to lightness and I'm not saying your wrong as I have an i7 CPU 16GB of RAM and 2 SSD's so I don't see much to slow me down. I'm trying to say you have to take system specs in consideration as I have an old P4 with 1GB of RAM but can't test it on that yet as the Beta is only for Win 7, Win 8 & Win 8.1 x64 but if they allow and old XP 32bit then I can say as to lightness IMO. So far I like this new F-Secure AV I find it interesting.

    TH
     
  23. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,067
    any screenshot? is compatible with other AV's like WSA?
     
  24. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    Applied for beta, still no answer...
     
  25. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Screenshots will look miserable.

    Why? This thing takes up YOUR ENTIRE DESKTOP.. It literally overlays your desktop with a hideous looking overlay. Trust me, you don't want to see it.
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2014
Loading...