f-secure internet security 2004 beta

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by illukka, Oct 22, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. illukka

    illukka Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    S.A.V.O
    available at https://europe.f-secure.com/exclude/is2004/index.shtml

    usual warnings about beta software:

    do not do this if you're not experienced with beta testing software, it can seriously f**k up your computer.... do it at your own risk..
     
  2. illukka

    illukka Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    S.A.V.O
    ok now i have it installed. looks like it's the firewall that has been modified the most in this edition, the av is like it has always been.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. illukka

    illukka Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    S.A.V.O
    looks like f-secure now features the much asked but not really so useful e-mail scanning, both out/incoming..
     

    Attached Files:

  4. illukka

    illukka Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    S.A.V.O
    e mail scanning can be configured with this screen
     

    Attached Files:

  5. illukka

    illukka Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    S.A.V.O
    another new feature is the ability to schedule scans directly from the gui

    the gui looks a bit like mcafee.. doesn't it?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. illukka

    illukka Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    S.A.V.O
    the firewall looks like this:

    you can acces this screen by clickin the advanced button in the main gui
     

    Attached Files:

  7. illukka

    illukka Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    S.A.V.O
    rules can be added with a wizard
     

    Attached Files:

  8. tahoma

    tahoma Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Posts:
    228
    thanks for the info

    i recently tried f-sis 2003 and ran into some problems with the firewall. would be nice to know if the following features have been changed or added
    -ability to see whats connected to where
    -application rules (in 2003 there you could only choose allow/block and not create rules based on templates)
    -i found no way of creating a custom rule that allows mirc ident
    -component control/dll injection??
    -activex filtering/blocking

    thanks in advance
     
  9. illukka

    illukka Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    S.A.V.O
    the irc problem should be solved at least, i'll check the rest when i have more time( luchbreak now..)
     

    Attached Files:

    • irc.jpg
      irc.jpg
      File size:
      68.3 KB
      Views:
      710
  10. illukka

    illukka Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    S.A.V.O
    one more screen

    from the help files: Verify
    Application only Only verify that the application is the one for which you allowed the outbound connection initially. If it is, allow the connection. Otherwise, perform the selected action.

    i assume that this verification performs some kind of checksumming to see if the application has changed...

    could not find anything related to dll injection though.. i'll contact f-secure
     

    Attached Files:

  11. _anvil

    _anvil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Posts:
    56
    @illukka

    It is said, that FSIS 2004 doesn't use the F-Prot engine anymore, but instead a new (?) engine called "Libra"... :eek:
    (you can see this by taking a look at the report after a scan.)

    Do you know or can find out something about this (especially the new engine)?
     
  12. illukka

    illukka Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    S.A.V.O
    thanks _anvil, i just noticed.. i must check this if i can find any info on it
     
  13. backweb

    backweb Guest

    Does FSIS 2004 still use backweb for there updates?I remember using it once and when i went to delete the trail version i had a hard time trying to get that backweb off of my computer.

    I know that it should be save--them using it for there updates---but companies like backweb made there money from secretly installing there spy sofware on people computers----but thats another story
     
  14. illukka

    illukka Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    S.A.V.O
    these are the components used in f-secure is 2004. new build of f-secure backweb is used. it can be disabled from the gui
     

    Attached Files:

  15. VikingStorm

    VikingStorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    387
    How's the performance? Any faster than previous versions?
     
  16. illukka

    illukka Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    S.A.V.O
    for me the past versions have been fast enough( with optimal settings of course) but it has a slight effect on performance... i'm not too keen on the firewall, think i'll uninstall it after the beta test and go back to zapro...
     
  17. Bob

    Bob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    49
    illukka,
    Can you uninstall the firewall or only disable it?
    I have the 2003 version and had terrible problems with the firewall, as always after I bought it.
    I only wanted to use the virusguard and not install the firewall. F-secure didn't help after many e-mails.
    Bob
     
  18. illukka

    illukka Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    S.A.V.O
    when i installed it gave me the option to choose which components to install: av only or both.
    looks like i'll have to uninstall the complete package if i want the firewall removed and then install av only

    edit: just got an answer from mr m.sinkkonen @ f-secure about the libra engine "We do not have yet official documentation available on Libra scanning engine, but basically it is a new scanning engine which will replace F-Prot engine from Internet Security 2004 product. It will not compromise on the detection rate."
     
  19. VikingStorm

    VikingStorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    387
    That's good, I have not so fond memories of the included firewall giving me a BSOD on every boot.
     
  20. illukka

    illukka Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    S.A.V.O
    hi

    now after some days of use i can give some opinions on the av:
    seems to use quite a lot of resources, this pc has 900mhz pentium with only 128mb ram.. and it slows...
    don't know if it's only the beta, but the e-mail scan can't be disabled.. this is IMO the main culprit for the slowdowns.. seems to update daily 24/7 automatically.. THIS is a very important feature unlike e-mail scan..

    i don't think that the firewall is something special.. it has the main features needed, that's it. been stealth is all tests i've ran, i intend to test it soon with some leak tests..

    so far the av has nailed anything(known nasties) i've tested on it, some even heuristically.. (backdoors) some brand new nasties have escaped..although some with warnings( unable to scan...)

    seems that the av part is something f-secure can really be proud of, the e-mail scanning has been much sought after and asked in some magazine reviews, well now it's there.. IMO you can't go wrong if you buy it (the av) if your pc can handle it, on this pc an increase in ram would do marvels..
     
  21. illukka

    illukka Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    S.A.V.O
    hi
    tested the firewall against some common leaktests, found 'em on this site: http://perso.wanadoo.fr/jugesoftware/firewallleaktester/eng/pageweb/test.html
    security level was set to high

    tested: result: pass/fail
    leaktest passed
    tooleaky failed
    firehole fails when ie is set to allow,passes when set to ask
    yalta passed
    pcaudit failed
    awft 0:10 failed
    thermite failed
    copycat failed
    wallbreaker failed both

    check the site, no commercial fw available passed all of these...well tiny was not tested..
    of course, before even posting here i sent the info to f-secure, after all this is a beta release, it can still be fixed..
    BTW, the software updates itself(including exe's), i received a new software package today at 11.18.

    cheers

    illukka
     
  22. controler

    controler Guest

    Hi

    I installed it yesterday and so far I have to unload it to get mail in Outlook.
    From the screen shot posted here by another poster, you will see all the check boxes are grayed out and not adjustable. In this beta they are not changable.
     
  23. illukka

    illukka Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    S.A.V.O
    outlooks works fine with me, no problems
     

    Attached Files:

  24. illukka

    illukka Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    S.A.V.O
    hi

    new test, changed the settings a bit after i got e-mail from f-secure
    leaktest=passed
    tooleaky= passed when ie set to ask
    firehole=passed when ie set to ask
    pcaudit=passed, but this test crashed fsis2004
    yalta=passed
    awft=passed 6-4
    thermite=passed when ie set to ask
    copycat=failed
    wallbreaker=passed when ie set to ask
     
  25. Karl_Menshy

    Karl_Menshy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Posts:
    135
    Thank you for publishing these interesting results, illuka! :)

    One question about the firewall though: if set to ask the v2003 asks for every connection attempt, i.e. multiple times for accessing one web page. Has this been fixed in 2004?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.