F-Secure Client Security 9 RC

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Brocke, Nov 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    the final came out today.
    link
    the final works great on my three computers.
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2009
  3. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
    Running very well here alongside the latest version of Prevx on my XP Pro SP3 box. The release v.# is 9.00 build 851.
     
  4. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Great news - been looking forward for this one :thumb:
     
  5. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA

    kool thanks, does anyone know what scan engine they sure?
     
  6. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    @Brocke
    They use BitDefender combined with their own engine (Hydra) and their own behavior detection (DeepGuard).
     
  7. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    ok thank you :thumb:
     
  8. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Dont forget Gemini
     
  9. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    there is Aquarius, DeepGuard and Blacklight, all even in just the AV.
     
  10. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA

    hmm interesteing, nice to know Thank you
     
  11. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    about f-secure client security license keys

    does anyone know how long these keys alast? as far as product updates/def updates?
     
  12. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    @Brocke
    :D Depends on the duration of the service contract you, your company or your school closed with them. This can't be reviewed from the CS interface.
     
  13. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    yeah maybe, but it just seems like on a standalone manage that they keys never expire. its kinda like symantec endpoint unmanaged ur never asked for a key but manged you are.
     
  14. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    @Brocke
    The fact that it works is something different then the question whenever this is legal.
     
  15. magictoaster

    magictoaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    I'm using Internet Security 2010 at home and it's really light on resources and appear to be quite effective based on the latest AV-Comparative results. Anyone know what are the differences between Internet Security 2010 and Client Security 9 beside the management features?

    About the keys, if it works like in version 8, they will not expire (and valid keys from version 8 should work for version 9), but if your support contract is expired, I'm sure it would be illegal to continue using it. And Brocke, I was not implying any wrongdoing on your part!
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2009
  16. CogitoTesting

    CogitoTesting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Posts:
    901
    Location:
    Sea of Tranquility, Luna
    The difference is: "parental control".
     
  17. magictoaster

    magictoaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Thanks! I guess that we'll go for whichever is cheaper since we do not need the management features at the office.
     
  18. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    That's right, same goes for SEP (Symantec Endpoint Security) and the McAfee Enterprise products. Please keep this in mind people.
     
  19. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hello,
    I have a current support contract with f-secure. the pdf i got when I first got the contract gave me a license code for version 8. I did wonder why the code said for version 8.
    when version 9 came out i found out why.
    the code wouldn't work with 9.
    but I got an automated email from f-secure on the same day telling me version 9 was out and here is my code for version 9 since I have a current contract.
     
  20. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    does anyone know the difference between the Workstation AV and the Client Security?
     
  21. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,517
    Seems to me the only difference is that the CS has firewall while the av does not.
    the av for workstation also has deepgurad and blacklight.

     
  22. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    true, personally, the suite bogs all computers down here, but the AV is faster then anything else I have tried.
     
  23. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    and I have determined it is the script option in the suite.
     
  24. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,517
    Uninstalled F-secure CS, installed the av for workstations. The firewall feature is not really needed.
     
  25. Pain of Salvation

    Pain of Salvation Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Posts:
    398
    You can choose not to install the firewall (and other components, like e-mail scan etc.) in the CS setup.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.