F-Secure Beta changes - FS Protection

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by entropism, Dec 9, 2016.

  1. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    459
    Just got an email from F-Secure regarding their perpetual beta, FS Protection. For those unaware, this is an all-in-one suite, and when I used it, was pretty light on my i5 system. Definitely one of the lighter AVs I tried, and I used it for about a year.

    That being said, the changelog:

     
  2. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,717
    I had this progam installed on one of my snapshots on XP. But, I didn't renew. It is still installed, because I may want to reactivate it in future, plus it was one the most difficult progams, that I ever had to install, initially.
     
  3. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    459
    Odd, I never had any issues with it, save for the bug they had with the beta where people's licenses ran out and weren't renewing. I switched to Webroot and have been there since, but I think I might switch back when the update goes live. Either that or try out the new AVG/Avast mutant.
     
  4. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,717
    May be odd, but I took a lot of screenshots, when installing, and being monitored by SSM on my XP desktop. I thought it would never end, i.e taking all those screenshots of the changes to various locations/registry etc.
     
  5. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    459
    I'm not doubting you, just saying I didn't experience something similar.
     
  6. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,165
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Are there any screenshots available?
     
  7. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    459
    Looks the same as their internet security app, and there's a browser based, web page control panel for up to 10 devices.
     
  8. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,717
    Suffice it to say, it took a lot of screenshots to get to this point of installing on XP desktop. ;)

    ScrenShot_F-Secure_Safe_install_112.gif
     
  9. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,062
    I am currently running the fs beta and haven't had any major issues with it. I am looking forward to the update in the next few days.
     
  10. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,062
    I have updated to the new fs protection ultracore today. after it updated it prompted for a reboot. i did notice that even thou the main gui listed that it is fully update to date there was some updates that had downloaded and not installed. i have now uninstalled the reinstalled and turns out that the parts it didn't install was due to those parts was included in the newer release. the installation size is quite a bit smaller after the reinstall.

    old
    c:\ program data 868mb
    c: program files X86 605mb
    263mb less
    new
    C: program data 392mb
    C: program files X86 548mb
    156mb less

    419mb less disc space used.

    the installation speed is definitely much improved and the updates are very quick.
     
  11. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,062
    on the downside I left my computer running while watching some tv and when i came back my computer became unresponsive and wouldnt even respond to ctrl alt delete. after force restarting the pc i checked event logs and found lots of errors relating to f-secure gatekeeper. i will keep an eye on this and may have to switch to something else for awhile it it keeps up.
     
  12. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    459
    Any updates on your experience?
     
  13. Jadda

    Jadda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    428
    This is built on their Ultralight engine, right? I think I read somewhere it's being incorporated into their new products this year. Looking forward to it, it's been in testing for quite a while.
     
  14. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,062
    Hey,

    I am not currently running it atm. one bug i reported has been fixed. I was still having issues with my computer hanging ands requiring a reboot to solve so i have gone back to another AV for the time being. the updates for ultralight are very fast and i will try the product again in a few months when i have more time to test it.
     
  15. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    459
    I was a little concerned reading their forums. Looks like you no longer have a way to whitelist or ask upon detection?
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.