F-Secure AV

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by trjam, Dec 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I know it is a beast in size but, once you saddle this boy in, it is still the fastest on my computers. With settings set high and web scanning enabled, it still gives me the fastest download and upload speeds of all of them with Speakeasy and others. But once installed, it will not talk to you. Everything is behind the scenes. Boring? Yes. But capable, very much so.
     
  2. Jaki

    Jaki Guest

    Did you mean to say it is faster than Norton? I tried F-secure AV 2008 and 2009 and both versions are a resource hog. However, even though it is, to me at least, a resource hog, I have got to admit that it is a great AV. With their in the-cloud technology with Deep Guard 2.0 it will keep you safe from the latest threat.

    F-secure website also is quite informative. I always watch their latest ideos from the video channel located at: http://www.f-secure.com/video-channel/

    Peace.
     
  3. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    Popups.... please stop the popups, " Virus " "Trojen " Virus " my screen is filling up, ahhhhh , My PC crashed ;/

    But yeah good detection too bad for the Heavy infection popup bug :argh:
     
  4. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    wow if it works for you great but it was one of the biggest dogs i have ever used my system slowed down so much it was ridiculous
     
  5. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I have to agree with above posters.I have vista w 3 gigs ram 1.7 dual core centrino and with no other security at the time of trial w F-Secure AV 2008 crippled my laptop.Deja-Vu of older norton days.
     
  6. s4u

    s4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Posts:
    441
    I have to agree with Trjam. F-Secure is one of the fastest for me as well. Both AV as the security suite
     
  7. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Slows down system to a crawl. :thumbd:
     
  8. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    I used FIS 2008/2009 both slowed down my machines considerably. (Vista & XP )
     
  9. Pseudo

    Pseudo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Posts:
    193
    Every time I've tried F-Secure it's slowed down my machines. Not overly slow, but it was noticeable.
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2008
  10. Diprivan

    Diprivan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Posts:
    66
    FSIS 2009 is running very fast here with Defensewall. I am using a laptop with XP Pro SP3.
     
  11. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i think the main problem is that it uses the older kav engine without ichecker and iswift. i dont know how heavy f-secure own engines are since you cannot use f-secure engines only. 2009 versions are lighter than the older versions.
     
  12. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    Tried it recently, had no problems or slowdowns - was actually much lighter then a few years back.
     
  13. tiagozt

    tiagozt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Posts:
    331
    I have no problems with slowdown since 2007 version. Actually I'm using 2009 with no problems.
     
  14. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    can anyone post screenshots of F-Secure resource usage?
     
  15. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    i compared it with TREND MICRO IS for both ram and internet speed
     
  16. tiagozt

    tiagozt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Posts:
    331
  17. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I am not the smartest guy out there and I know it is heavy to install but I swear it is the lightest AV I have used. Plain and simple. And for 13 bucks, what can I say, except PM me if you are interested.
     
  18. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    lol a lot of processes yes, but not all that much when put together. i just find it strange why they have soooooo many processes... btw is that internet security or just the AV?
     
  19. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    AV, I can get the suite for about 23 bucks. Regardless of price, I am really loving this AV. It is using no speed what so ever.:thumb:
     
  20. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    784
    F secure 2009 versions improved so much compared to past versions in all fields ... anyway F Secure should use less processes , many processes makes it feel heavier than what it really is.

    @trjam
    Hey man you are not going to participe in Avira v9 beta program? I imagined that Avira was your favorite ... :argh:
     
  21. tiagozt

    tiagozt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Posts:
    331
    It's Internet Security Technology Preview
     
  22. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    oh I am in, in another snapshot.;)

    And it looks real good, but that is all I can say.;)
     
  23. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    A bit pricey :D. I bought it for 8 bucks last month, you know how..
     
  24. s4u

    s4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Posts:
    441
    Please do tell us........
     
  25. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Well, it is fast but unfortunately I found that it's webscanner caused a lot of problems for me while downloading archives. I have no idea why that was, but after reproducing it several times on freshly formatted and clean OS installs, and the bug coming back from version 08 to 09, I decided to remove it. Apart from that webscanner it was brilliant.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.