F-Secure 2010 released

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by larryb52, Aug 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CogitoTesting

    CogitoTesting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Posts:
    901
    Location:
    Sea of Tranquility, Luna
    What I'm mostly worry about is self-protection.
     
  2. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    better worry a lot more then that. No matter how much they tuned their internal engines, going from Kaspersky to Bitdefender is like going from Outback to McDonalds.
     
  3. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    not really. i find THEIR OWN AV to be buggy but their engine itself is underrated IMO.
     
  4. Nightwatch

    Nightwatch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Posts:
    25
    Hi :)
    Already done.

    Yep, i can set it to "always ask" but it won´t tell me about system modifications like it did in the past. Many applications were allowed automatically.

    Best regards,
    Nightwatch
     
  5. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,306
    I am hoping that it will be tested this month by AVC, and am eagerly looking forward to the results. I have had it on my laptop for about a week, and it is running well. However, so does KIS, Avira IS, and Avast.

    Once an application runs well on my system it boils down to detection rates, and finally cost. I am really doubtful if FS 2010 will excel to the extent I will change from the applications I was using. I don't know when the cutoff is/was for AVC tests.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  6. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
    @Trjam - you really do surprise me! When you were using the ISTP you made comments such as:-

    "First, gone is the bad, bad Kas 6 AV engine and the new,new Bitdefender AV engine. Better or worse? Time will tell. I know to me, it is the new best product for 2010 at this point."

    "This is a very nice suite and will have no problem competing with the rest."

    "I really do like what this is going to be."


    "I still stand, extremely impressed with what is coming. The best way I can sum it up is, it takes F-Secure out of the congested middle of the pack, and places it among the top tier for suites."

    "As of today I cleaned house and left only one. F-Secure 2010.......The new version of F-Secure was the fastest.......My boot times, internet speed, were all quicker with this product."


    "the reality is, Bitdefenders engine has never gotten the respect it deserves from members here, ever. And it was normally not due to the engine but something like the GUI. Bitdefenders engine is better then the majority of ones that we so dearly discuss here. Supplement that with F-Secures improved engines and you probaly have the best protection in a suite coming."

    But I guess Hitman Pro and Sandboxie are flavour of the month at the moment!
     
  7. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    yes I did and the ISTP changed twice since those posted thoughts. Does that mean things dont change? Does that mean I am not entitled to change my view? Hell no, read my last post, it says it is just my 2 cents, it doesnt mean the product sucks. My flavor of the day? Has been and always will be, if you really read my post, Eset Smart Security. Does that mean with 3 compters with FD-ISR or a total of 30 snapshots I can not try new stuff. Well except last night when I let my guard down after doing a reimage and did get popped like hell by 3 nasties.

    My point is, what do you want to hear, Eset? I tried that and got bashed here like hell for it. No biggie, I did renew and use it, I like it. I like Prevx and Geswall and DID like F-Secure. Ok?
     
  8. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    A suggestion: given the lack of the BrowsingProtection feature in the AV version, the FS installer should detect whether you are installing the AV or the IS package and apply the proper settings for the WebTrafficScanning option accordingly (it's disabled by default for both versions).
     
  9. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
    No prob Trjam. It's just that to go from the comments you made about the ISTP and in particular the Bitdefender engine to then go and say we'd better worry cause they gone from the KAV engine to BD engine just seems from one extreme to the other. Did the ISTP change that much to make you change your mind like that.

    Everyone is entitled to change their mind and their opinions. I realise you've got 3 PCs and like trying new products all the time. And are a well respected member here at Wilders so no offence intended to you with my post.

    I guess we go with what we're happy with and 'for now' I'm enjoying this product.
     
  10. patrikr

    patrikr AV Expert

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    California, USA
    Any slowdown caused to your browsing experience did not come from the engine change, it just doesn't work that way.

    There are two things that have been added to the 2010 product compared to 2009 that can affect the browsing speed and that is Exploit Shield and the Browser Plugin (URL ratings such as Safe, Malicious etc). I can see how for example the Browser Plugin will slow it down as it will do a lookup to our cloud to see what the rating is for that URL. This will take some time (counted in milliseconds though) and the same applies for Exploit Shield which actively and in real-time will check for any exploits on any page.

    We've done extensive testing on the browsing speed, as we know it's something users care about a lot, and found that the performance impact is really, really small. As mentioned earlier, the impact is measured in milliseconds.

    Hope this helps.
    Patrik
     
  11. patrikr

    patrikr AV Expert

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    California, USA
    Good idea and added to the backlog. Thanks for the suggestion!

    Patrik
     
  12. patrikr

    patrikr AV Expert

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    California, USA
    Thanks, will check and follow up.
     
  13. patrikr

    patrikr AV Expert

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    California, USA
    Can't go into any details more than to say that self-protection was a thing we've enhanced in the 2010 product.

    I tried to reproduce this with Process Explorer (on XP SP3) and I got a warning on all processes I tried to shut down. You didn't get a warning message?

    Patrik
     
  14. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    You're welcome Patrik. Glad you liked it :cool:
     
  15. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    @patrikr
    When can we expect Client Security 9 (based on 2010 series)?
     
  16. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
    The business products seem to be released around November time (we use them where I work).

    I received an email yesterday informing me to try out the beta of the new Client Security but not sure I'll get time to do so. But we'll see........
     
  17. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    when will the AV be released.
     
  18. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
    If you're talking about the standalone 2010 AV it's already included with the installer. You can choose whether to trial IS or just the AV for 30 days during installation.

    As noted before, Browsing Protection is not included with the stand alone AV.
     
  19. JoakimM

    JoakimM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Posts:
    51
    Location:
    Lomma, Sweden
    From my admin account I was able to kill all processes using Process Explorer as well, despite having never used it before, but from a user account a Windows pop-up denies the action. I am by no means a computer expert but isn´t that the way it sort of.. should beo_O? The admin account leaves everything wide open, while a user account shields important processes? And that is why one never should surf the net logged in as an admin on the system?

    /J
     
  20. CogitoTesting

    CogitoTesting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Posts:
    901
    Location:
    Sea of Tranquility, Luna
    None at all. I was very surprised that I did not get any. I tested FIS 2010 using a virtual windows XP. Windows vista x64 was the host operating system.
     
  21. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,306
    I know that you could not please some folks if you "hung 'em with a new rope."

    It bugs me that I cannot put my cursor over the icon in the tray and see when the last update occurred.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  22. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,131

    bingo, I shouldn't have to go into setup to see the last date it was updated, I like the program but that needs to be added somewhere...
     
  23. patrikr

    patrikr AV Expert

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    California, USA
    The beta is available as of yesterday, just contact your local F-Secure partner and they can provide it to you.

    Patrik
     
  24. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    @patrikr
    Good, I assume that Client Security 8 licenses will be valid for version 9 as well? Thanks for the information :thumb:
     
  25. patrikr

    patrikr AV Expert

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    California, USA
    Absolutely.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.