F Prot trialing & asking for registration #

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by larryb52, Aug 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    Not sure how to secure the registration to run the trial any help is greatly appreciated...
     
  2. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    It should automatically download the key when you run the trial version installer. It did for me some time back...:)
     
  3. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    1. Take a look here first; when you reach the "Get subscription, update and scan my computer" Window, deselect and reboot. The reason for this is that the default scanning action is to disinfect/quarantine files that may be malware or false positives.


    2. Then just follow the instructions here to obtain your trial subscription.

    By default, the automatic scanners (on-demand and running Guard) will automatically disinfect infected/suspicious files upon detection without user interaction, so you may want to change these settings to "Ask each time/Report only".
     
  4. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    thanks!
     
  5. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I tried F-Prot version 6 right after it was released in January 2007. My DrWeb's license was still effective so I just ran F-P for 1 day to see what it looked like, then I uninstalled it.

    In May 2007, getting close to the time when my DrWeb license would expire, I wanted to try F-P again, with the goal of possibly buying it. However, F-P insisted that my trial period was expired & refused to let me give it another trial. So I bought a different AV instead of F-P.

    I wonder why Frisk makes it difficult to try their product?
     
  6. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    With all my respect , it isn't FRISK . Lots of vendors do so , I mean it is something in the way they are installed (perhaps MSI, I don't know exactly) . If you have kept the same installer (the one from January) you would have been able to trail the product for the next 29 days . The new install file doesn't allow you because it gathers information you have already had FRISK F-prot installed no matter how (much) you have used it .

    All companies can offer their clients Not - for -resale licenses to use temporary and trial their products again , keep that in mind :thumb:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 12, 2007
  7. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    Try sending an email to Frisk support and explain the situation, they may give you another 30 day trial.
     
  8. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    No problem.

    Well worth visiting the official Forum for any queries/potential problems with FPAV 6.
     
  9. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I might have done that if Frisk were the only show in town. They aren't.

    (I bought licenses for 2 other AVs just a few weeks after my futile efforts to try F-P. No, I don't run both of them simultaneously.)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.