F-PROT new version 6.0.6.1

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Chubb, Mar 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
  2. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,023
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Since version 6.0.6.1 was a bug-fix only for Outlook, changelog for version 6.0.6.0 may also be of interest for present users.

    I have also found the real-time File system Guard a little lighter with this new release.
     
  3. CJsDad

    CJsDad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    618
    Anything word about getting F-Prot ready for Vista yet?

    Thats the last AV I used/trialed on my XP machine before going to Vista.
     
  4. rayoflight

    rayoflight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Posts:
    180
  5. CogitoErgoSum

    CogitoErgoSum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    641
    Location:
    Cerritos, California
    Can anyone tell me whether the latest version of F-Prot 6 conflicts with LinkScanner Pro? What are its typical system resource figures? How many processes are running? Any help would be appreciated.


    Peace & Love,

    CogitoErgoSum
     
  6. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,023
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Best to try the two, using the trial version of FPAV 6. If they do, a temporary fix would be to exclude the LinkScanner Folders/Files from the RTM.
    2 processes; on this WIN XP computer; FPAVServer.exe taking up 4.3MB VM and FProtTray.exe taking 1.9MB VM.

    Running Guard is very light in real-time, but IMO, not quite as featherweight as F-Prot 3. But Frisk are continuing to tweak the new version.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. CogitoErgoSum

    CogitoErgoSum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    641
    Location:
    Cerritos, California
    Hello Blackcat,

    Thanks for the followup. From what you have just shown me, it appears that FP 6 is the lightest a/v that I am now aware of.


    Peace & Love,

    CogitoErgoSum
     
  8. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    by light, if you mean ram, its bitdefender.

    if by light you mean performance, there are a few im sure, dr.web and AVG are two i know run very fast with no notice of a drop of system performance, but im sure there are others too.
     
  9. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,131
    installed it the other day, runs great & light resource wise as preformance inpact wise. I'm going to purchase this for my laptop & Desktop, I think Mike deserves a pat on the back , the hard work is showing...
     
  10. Malcontent

    Malcontent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Posts:
    451
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio USA
    I think F-prot allows you to install on 5 computers with the purchase of 1 license. So, for about $29 for up to 5 computers.
     
  11. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    absolutly no doubt, the price of F-PROT is a cheap one, especially with the 5pc licence.

    not just the price, but the fact that its 5 pc, is great, all AV companys know most households will have more than 1 machine these days, i think EVERY av should give a 3pc licence, but i guess f-prot are going that bit further and saying 5.
     
  12. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,131
    it's a good price plus it's a good av, that is the bottom line isn't it?
     
  13. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,131
    just tried a simple eicar test with it , it let me download with no warning, needs more work...
     
  14. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,161
    Hi, folks: I d/l and ran a scan with all other features disabled. It found 2 malwares right way, I aborted and did not contiune it. I have Avast home and never had any alerts. And those two initial findings are my legitimate programs. Has anyone else had similiar problems or just me? A good app indeed, but these F.P. Hmm, I will entertain its value for a little while.
     
  15. jodu

    jodu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Hi.


    If you download the eicar file via IE, f-prot blocks it before you can save it in your computer.
    If you use a different browser ( like Firefox ), f-prot will only block it when you try to open the file.

    Jodu
     
  16. proll

    proll Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    Hi jodu:
    F-prot could block eicar file (.com or any other executable extend) both via IE and Firefox.
    And more,the on-Access monitor of F-prot doesn't scan .txt file.
     
  17. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,131
    I tried the .com, it just walked on by it like it wasn't even there, it needs to do the simple stuff as well...
     
  18. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,023
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    I have seen 2 false postives in 3 months and these where with the Thorough scan with the highest heuristic setting; not too surprising since the heuristic engine is still being tweaked.

    I suggest that you contact Frisk to correct these FP's.

    For future scans and a temporary fix just exclude the programs using the Exclusions Function.
     
  19. rayoflight

    rayoflight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Posts:
    180
    Perman
    Yes,I have some FP's with my Nero 7 and Prey during thorough scan.I already sent a request and hope it will be fixed soon.

    Don't understand why?F-Prot by default sets to scan all fileso_O
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2007
  20. proll

    proll Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    Yep,the On-access resident component doesn't scan all files whereas the On-demand do.
    You know the .txt file will not damage your computer
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2007
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.