F-PROT new version 6.0.6.1

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Chubb, Mar 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
  2. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Since version 6.0.6.1 was a bug-fix only for Outlook, changelog for version 6.0.6.0 may also be of interest for present users.

    I have also found the real-time File system Guard a little lighter with this new release.
     
  3. CJsDad

    CJsDad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    618
    Anything word about getting F-Prot ready for Vista yet?

    Thats the last AV I used/trialed on my XP machine before going to Vista.
     
  4. rayoflight

    rayoflight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Posts:
    180
  5. CogitoErgoSum

    CogitoErgoSum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    641
    Location:
    Cerritos, California
    Can anyone tell me whether the latest version of F-Prot 6 conflicts with LinkScanner Pro? What are its typical system resource figures? How many processes are running? Any help would be appreciated.


    Peace & Love,

    CogitoErgoSum
     
  6. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Best to try the two, using the trial version of FPAV 6. If they do, a temporary fix would be to exclude the LinkScanner Folders/Files from the RTM.
    2 processes; on this WIN XP computer; FPAVServer.exe taking up 4.3MB VM and FProtTray.exe taking 1.9MB VM.

    Running Guard is very light in real-time, but IMO, not quite as featherweight as F-Prot 3. But Frisk are continuing to tweak the new version.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. CogitoErgoSum

    CogitoErgoSum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    641
    Location:
    Cerritos, California
    Hello Blackcat,

    Thanks for the followup. From what you have just shown me, it appears that FP 6 is the lightest a/v that I am now aware of.


    Peace & Love,

    CogitoErgoSum
     
  8. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    by light, if you mean ram, its bitdefender.

    if by light you mean performance, there are a few im sure, dr.web and AVG are two i know run very fast with no notice of a drop of system performance, but im sure there are others too.
     
  9. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    installed it the other day, runs great & light resource wise as preformance inpact wise. I'm going to purchase this for my laptop & Desktop, I think Mike deserves a pat on the back , the hard work is showing...
     
  10. Malcontent

    Malcontent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Posts:
    451
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio USA
    I think F-prot allows you to install on 5 computers with the purchase of 1 license. So, for about $29 for up to 5 computers.
     
  11. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    absolutly no doubt, the price of F-PROT is a cheap one, especially with the 5pc licence.

    not just the price, but the fact that its 5 pc, is great, all AV companys know most households will have more than 1 machine these days, i think EVERY av should give a 3pc licence, but i guess f-prot are going that bit further and saying 5.
     
  12. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    it's a good price plus it's a good av, that is the bottom line isn't it?
     
  13. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    just tried a simple eicar test with it , it let me download with no warning, needs more work...
     
  14. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi, folks: I d/l and ran a scan with all other features disabled. It found 2 malwares right way, I aborted and did not contiune it. I have Avast home and never had any alerts. And those two initial findings are my legitimate programs. Has anyone else had similiar problems or just me? A good app indeed, but these F.P. Hmm, I will entertain its value for a little while.
     
  15. jodu

    jodu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Hi.


    If you download the eicar file via IE, f-prot blocks it before you can save it in your computer.
    If you use a different browser ( like Firefox ), f-prot will only block it when you try to open the file.

    Jodu
     
  16. proll

    proll Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    Hi jodu:
    F-prot could block eicar file (.com or any other executable extend) both via IE and Firefox.
    And more,the on-Access monitor of F-prot doesn't scan .txt file.
     
  17. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    I tried the .com, it just walked on by it like it wasn't even there, it needs to do the simple stuff as well...
     
  18. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    I have seen 2 false postives in 3 months and these where with the Thorough scan with the highest heuristic setting; not too surprising since the heuristic engine is still being tweaked.

    I suggest that you contact Frisk to correct these FP's.

    For future scans and a temporary fix just exclude the programs using the Exclusions Function.
     
  19. rayoflight

    rayoflight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Posts:
    180
    Perman
    Yes,I have some FP's with my Nero 7 and Prey during thorough scan.I already sent a request and hope it will be fixed soon.

    Don't understand why?F-Prot by default sets to scan all fileso_O
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2007
  20. proll

    proll Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    Yep,the On-access resident component doesn't scan all files whereas the On-demand do.
    You know the .txt file will not damage your computer
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2007
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.