F-prot, is it forreal?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by main, Aug 30, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. main

main Guest

I wanted to know how come an av so light and so fast can get 97% on the latest test? I'm far from an av expert but I figured that AV's that used more memory were a bit better due to stronger virus scanning/internals.

And how can F-prot score higher than NOD32? Not to mention F-prot is sold for little than nothing?

When I used it in the past I thought I didn't have an Av Installed becuase it was so quick.

Need some feedback becuase I'm on dial up and I need to keep my pc somewhat fast and I'm convinced in getting look n stop, should I get this along with LNS for good protection or should I get Mcafee instead?

2. Detox

Detox Retired Moderator

Huh? What "latest test" are you talking about? Obviously not VBo_O

3. se7engreen

se7engreen Registered Member

I'm far from an AV expert also, but I can say from using it on many slow archaic machines and also as an ondemand scanner, that it's a fine product. I'm sure you're referring to the AV Comparatives for this month and that’s probably just one of many sources that would agree that it's an excellent AV especially considering the low resource usage.

4. hbkh

hbkh Registered Member

I think he/she means http://www.av-comparatives.org latest test.

edit: gender correction :D

Last edited: Aug 30, 2004
  5. Detox

Detox Retired Moderator

Ahhh those. I guess you may be correct, but I still wonder if the original poster really meant that or... o_O Hopefully he/she can confirm upon their return.

6. QuinnK

QuinnK Registered Member

And how can F-prot score higher than NOD32? Not to mention F-prot is sold for little than nothing?

--------------------------------