F-Prot for DOS?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by whvrgr1, Jul 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. whvrgr1

    whvrgr1 Guest

    Does this firewall work on non-IBM computers? And what is DOS? Will it work on XP?

    Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    F-prot DOS is an on demand antivirus not a firewall.

    see screen shot for requirments.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 17, 2004
  3. jim_k

    jim_k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Posts:
    51
    Non IBM Computers: Yes, as long as it is based on the Intel x86 platform (almost all consumer systems today). It won't work on a Mac, and it won't work if you don't have DOS on the system.

    Click here for recommended firewalls for use with F-Prot Antivirus


    This version is not compatible with Windows NT, 2000, or XP. The Windows version of F-Prot Antivirus costs $29.99 for five personal systems. This includes one year of updates. For more information on why you must buy the Windows version for NT, 2000, and XP, click here.

    Even if you use Windows 98 or Me, which are compatible with the DOS version, it is worth paying for the Windows version. It will help stop infections from ever happening. It will also update itself. It is easier to use than the DOS version. Finally, you support the company that makes this excellent Antivirus software. F-Prot for Windows is not compatible with Windows 95. In this case, you should use the DOS version.
     
  4. optigrab

    optigrab Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Posts:
    624
    Location:
    Brooklyn/NYC USA
    Actually, F-Prot DOS works like a charm on my Windows 2000 system. AFAIK the primary caveat for using F-Prot DOS on a Windows machine is if you are using a NTFS file system. On a FAT32 file system it works great, if you are using NTFS file system it has difficulty seeing "long pathnames", I think.

    See http://www.claymania.com/f-prot.html
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.