External USB Hard drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by robj, Mar 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. robj

robj Registered Member

Hi

I am a newbie to TI. I have TI 9 version 2337.

I have just ordered a USB external hard drive because I am fed up with producing DVD coasters or bird scarers when copying my backup image files over.

I am getting confused. TI don't recommend setting a Secure Zone on an external HD. Quite a few people say not to bother with setting an SZ at all yet it looks as though you cannot use Acronis Startup Recovery Manager without having a SZ. If I just store my image backups on the new external HD and there is a catastrophic C drive failure how would I start to restore the system if the Operating System (Windows XP) won't boot up?
    I have created a TI Bootable CD so would I use this?

Instructions are not very clear for this in the Help section so any help would be very welcome for this Dummie :oops:

2. TheWeaz

TheWeaz Registered Member

Yes, you would boot from the Rescue Media (your bootable CD).
    You may need to adjust your BIOS settings so that the CD comes before your HD in the boot order.
    It's always a good idea to test the boot CD and make sure it works and can see all your hardware BEFORE disaster strikes.

3. Aesop

Aesop Registered Member

Is the USB restore issue with INVALID / CORRUPTED FILE fixed? If not how can you restore with an external USB drive to begin with?

4. Chutsman

Chutsman Registered Member

The person having an issue restoring from a usb drive probably had other reasons for that problem. Keeping backups on an external usb drive and restoring from it is, imho, the preferred way.

5. bVolk

bVolk Registered Member

The problems with USB drives reported here were mainly due to the fact that some USB externals won't be seen from the rescue environment.