External HDD

Discussion in 'hardware' started by Infected, Jun 7, 2015.

  1. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    665
    I used a 500gb Seagate 3.5" HDD as my storage in my desktop. I moved and put my desktop in storage, but took my Seagate with me. Yesterday I bought a Insignia enclosure, with power plugin.

    This one -- http://www.bestbuy.com/site/insigni...sure/5824308.p?id=1219163971636&skuId=5824308

    But when I plug it into my laptop, it sees it and it shows something is plugged in, in the task bar, but it doesn't show up in under hard drives and I can't open it. I tried in on my wife's laptop, same thing.

    I tried disabling the driver, uninstalling restarting all of that, but still nothing. Microsoft Fix-it doesn't work with Windows 8. Am I missing anything?

    Regards
     
  2. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,777
    Location:
    Mexico
    Try a partition manager in order to format it. Maybe it comes format-less when shipped.
     
  3. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    665
    It's my storage drive, all of my stuff is on there.
     
  4. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,777
    Location:
    Mexico
    If you connected all cables correctly then most likely you have a loose internal connection or bad enclosure (even new ones could be defective).
     
  5. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    665
    Yes, I'll try to exchange it. Probably defective.
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,648
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Infected,

    Have a look in Disk Management. Can you see the drive? Is it NTFS or another file system? Does it have a drive letter?