External HD disappeared after loading image

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by HowCo, Dec 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HowCo

    HowCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    External HD no longer shows up in My Computer. How do I get Windows to see it?

    History:
    I Connected a new Seagate 160GB external USB2 connected HD to my Dell 9100/WinXP Home. Formatted external HD to NTFS. Everything worked fine and external drive showed in My Computer.

    Used TI8 (937) to load the image of my c/ drive onto the external HD using the wizard. Image loaded...OK, and I did a disk check..OK.

    I now wanted to proceed and do a test backup but the external HD no longer shows up in My Computer.

    The external HD does show up in Disk Management as "Basic 149GB online" and "Unallocated".

    One thing I was not sure about during the Wizard process, I had a choice between using the image as a Primary or secondary? ( I forgot the term). I choose the secondary item.

    I'm at a loss on on to proceed and any help is appreciated...
    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2005
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    HowCo, it appears that you have deleted the partition on your external HD. Format it as NTFS again and it should appear in Windows.
     
  3. HowCo

    HowCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks, I'll try that...do I need to partition my external HD into sections (like my c: drive with a FAT32 section) or just one big NTFS section?

    Thanks
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Your choice really. I've split mine into two 80 GB NTFS partitions. One for data backups and the other for image backups but a single partition would still work.
     
  5. HowCo

    HowCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks for the info, I'm halfway there....I reformatted my H drive and it now shows up as a drive but H does not show up in TI when I boot using the boot CD. :rolleyes:
    I'll keep working on this...
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Sounds like you need the BartPE plugin if the Acronis CD can't see your external HD.
     
  7. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Is the USB drive connected to a port built into the Dell system?
    Or is there a separate USB adapter? If so, you have to install addition USB drivers.
     
  8. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello HowCo,

    Also, make sure that the external USB HD is plugged in and switched on before you boot from the TI rescue CD.

    Regards
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello HowCo,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    In case your hard drive is plugged in and switched on prior to booting from Acronis True Image 8.0 (build 937) Bootable Rescue CD, but still can not be recognized by the program, please create Acronis Report and Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If you are not able to create sysinfo.txt file for some reason then please boot from the Acronis True Image 8.0 rescue disc once more and press F11 key when the "Starting Acronis Loader..." message appears. After you get the "Linux Kernel Settings" prompt, please remove the "quiet" word, click on the OK button. As the startup messages stop scrolling please write down the last few lines of the output, or use a digital camera to make shots of the output screens.

    Please keep your external USB hard drive connected while creating Acronis Report and Linux system information.

    Please also download and install the free trial version of Acronis True Image 9.0, create new Bootable Rescue CD, boot your PC from this CD and see if the problem still persists. Let us know the result.

    What are the exact vendor, model and connection type of your external hard drive?

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.