External hard drive locked up my computer

Discussion in 'hardware' started by ohblu, Jun 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ohblu

ohblu Registered Member

I took the IDE hard drive out of my desktop PC and put it in a compatible enclosure making sure I followed all of the directions. I connected it to my laptop and that's when it sort of locked up my laptop. I couldn't open any files or anything. As soon as I pulled out the USB cable from the laptop, everything was ok. Also, the contents of the external hard drive did not show up. The drive may be damaged anyway, which is why I put it in an enclosure.

Does anyone know why my laptop would lock up like this? This is my first time putting an internal hard drive into an enclosure, so maybe I didn't do something correctly.

My laptop is running Win XP.

2. TheKid7

TheKid7 Registered Member

Does this external USB hard drive have a Windows Operating System installed on it?

In the past I have moved a SATA hard drive containing a Windows Operating System to be used as a internal SATA data backup hard drive. I was denied access from copying files from the hard drive. I used a Linux Distro "Live CD" to copy the files and then I deleted the hard drive partitions and formatted the hard drive. Then I copied the files back to the newly formatted hard drive using Windows.

3. ohblu

ohblu Registered Member

Yes, it has Windows XP. I'm trying to determine whether the drive is good or bad because when it was in the computer, I couldn't boot and got a "disk read error." I suspect it is still good, I think the problem is/was with the power supply or possibly corrupted boot files.

I know that when it's in the enclosure and I turn it on, it makes the exact same sounds it made when it was in the computer and would work and boot normally. Since the Device Manager can see the model number, wouldn't that be an indication that it still works?