ext3 partition errors prevent imaging

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by earther, Aug 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. earther

    earther Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Posts:
    49
    I own Acronis True Image 8 and it has always worked flawlessly.

    I now have an XP/Linux dual boot setup and am getting pretty nervous because I haven't been able to create a tib. I have read on this forum that TI 8 is capable of doing this.

    However, when I attempt to create an image, there are Xs on the ext3 partitions and I get this message:

    The file system is regularly checked at boot time and there have never been any problems.

    What is causing this and how do I fix it?

    Unless you can GUARANTEE that an upgrade will fix this problem, please refrain from suggesting it.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Have you run the Linux "check disk" program on the partition/drive? I think it's fschk. If it shows it running at startup, it's probably the same program.

    I have used TI 9 (build 3,677 and later) and also TI 10 to backup and restore my ext3 Linux partitions without problems (except for the GRUB "bug").

    If TI 8 doesn't recognize the format it will do a sector-by-sector image of the partition. This will be the size of the partition. You should still have a valid backup.

    Another thing to check is that you're using the latest build of TI 8. If you're not, then updating may solve your problem.
     
  3. earther

    earther Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Posts:
    49
    Unfortunately, I don't have the space to do a sector-by-sector backup. I think I have the last available build but I'll check when I get back into XP. Thanks.
     
  4. earther

    earther Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Posts:
    49
    MudCrab, I cannot find any updates listed for TI 8 on this page. Should I be looking any place else?

    I have build 791 installed. I believe that was the last one but would like to be sure.
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
  6. earther

    earther Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Posts:
    49
    I did log in but no v.8 updates were on the list that appeared. So just now I took another tactic and clicked on my account and indeed there is a build 937 update. OMG! It's almost 25MB. That'll take some time on dialup. Later . . .

    Update . . . downloaded and ready to install now.
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2007
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    TI 10 is about 102MB. You've only got to download 1/4 of that.
     
  8. earther

    earther Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Posts:
    49
    Yeah, I know. I actually downloaded and burned the TI 10 trial elsewhere a few days ago - no way I could do it here.

    But I'd rather get TI 8 working. If that happens I'll consider an upgrade -being able to mount the Linux partitions might be worth it.

    Have just gotten instructions elsewhere on how to run fsck from a boot disk. That will probably happen on Friday.

    I'll report back if the upgrade fixes things and how the disk check goes, if needed.
     
  9. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I wouldn't say no way. Before I got high-speed internet access, I downloaded 700MB Linux ISO files using dial-up. Took a week for each one, but it did do it.

    Also, TI 10 can't mount Linux partitions (ext3, for example). You can, however, explore them from in Windows and copy files out.
     
  10. earther

    earther Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Posts:
    49
    I'm not that much of a masochist!

    Ah, my bad . . . it's kinda late.

    Now on to some very good news. After updating to build 937, the ext3 files were recognized. OMG, I am sooo happy!!! Thanks for all your help.

    (Of course, I haven't actually tried to restore a dual boot image but it's always worked before . . . ;) )
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello earther,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are glad to hear that your issue has been solved and you can use Acronis True Image successfully.

    If you have any further questions concerning Acronis software, please feel free to submit a request for technical support or post any of them on this forum. We will certainly try to help you in resolving any issues.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.