Explorer.EXE different than Explorer.exe ?

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by dionisiog, Nov 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dionisiog

    dionisiog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Posts:
    57
    Recently I discovered on 2 of my computers that taskman.exe was showing Explorer.EXE instead of Explorer.exe as a running program. I was wondering if I should be concerned about this.

    The operating systems on those computers are WinXP PRO and HomeXP.

    Both computers have Avast5, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware, Spyware Terminator, Spybot Search & Destroy, Spyware Blaster And Comodo Internet Security Suite (Without The Antivirus Option) installed with latest updates. Both computers scanned daily, no problems detected. Both are running quite well.
     
  2. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    And mine is an all lower case explorer.exe. If you are worried you could get the checksum from the file for the version of Windows you are running and see if it matches a known good copy.

    Ok, I started up an XP Professional machine and explorer.exe is version 6.0.2900.5512 with the latest service pack 3. CRC32 is 0EE48FAF. If your file on XP Pro matches that you should be fine. If it doesn't there may be other reasons it doesn't so you may still be fine. But if it matches you know for sure it is good.
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2010
  3. dionisiog

    dionisiog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Posts:
    57
    Thanks for stating in a reply that which should have been obvious to me. Since explorer.EXE also looked strange to me I guess that I panicked and therefore... stopped thinking.
    The stranger part of this is that almost immediately after I left my question at the forum, the title of both explorers reverted to their normal designation of "explorer.exe". Ut-oh. Now that could make me a little paranoid!
    I think I will run the SFC program on both computers and check against the disk version, at least I would hope that I would end up with the original form of explorer on my system.
    I would be thinking that with all the updates that explorer eventually gets a 'makeover' by Microsoft, but not to explorer.EXE . I don't seem to remember seeing any exe file designated as EXE on my system in the past.
    Thanks for your comment.
     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  5. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    They pretty well spell out there the fact that Windows unfortunately is not case sensitive with file names or logons for that matter. On Linux you can have different files of the same name and different case in the same location, but on Windows it's not going to happen.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.