Explorer Error

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by laiono, Apr 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. laiono

    laiono Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    I have been using my computer all morning, then I downloaded a Security update cd from msn, and then downloaded a trial offer firewall and anti virus from msn also

    I am not getting the following error over and over and it will make computer freeze or shut down

    Explorer has caused an error in HKTPLUG.DLL.
    Explorer will now close
    If you continue to experience problems
    try restarting your computer
     
  2. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,331
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi laiono,

    I have moved your post here, for the time being.
    We may have to move it again once we find out what is going on. :)

    Can you do a find files for HKTPLUG.DLL , rightclick it and look at the version tab under Properties.
    Can you make it to which program that dll belongs?

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  3. laiono

    laiono Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    Pieter,

    Ok, I did a find and found the file it is in my documents/system folder. When I right clicked on it, there is no version tab. I might not be doing it correctly I apologize. let me know

    thanks

    laiono
     
  4. laiono

    laiono Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    Pieter,

    something new I came across I am not sure if it will help at all, but I keep getting this pop up advertisement that says:
    System Performance Info
    System Compatibility Check: Windows® Me detected - GOOD!
    Browser Version Info: IE6 - GOOD!
    Memory Info: WARNING
    Memory leaks may be slowing your system down and
    putting you at risk for system crashes and data loss.
    Would you like to check for and correct this potential issue?
    and the advertisement says its by NicTechNetworks.com

    Well when I did that find the error title I was getting and right clicked and on properties under signaturres it says NicTechNetworks.com and it shows I must of added it last wed on April 7, 2004

    Let me know thanks

    laiono
     
  5. Dewayne

    Dewayne Guest

    I'm getting that System Performance Info ad popup too! Anyone know how I can get rid of it? The latest versions of Adaware 6.0 and SpyBot don't do the job!

    Please reply to dewayne@bdnewell.com if you have any suggestions for getting rid of this intrusive annoyance!

    Thanks!

    Dewayne
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.