Explanation of error 700200

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Wurzl, Nov 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wurzl

    Wurzl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Hi folks,

    what does error 700200 mean? I'm getting it during validation of a full backup image. The error appears if I chose maximum compression. High compression is going well.

    Any ideas?

    - ATI 10 Home (Build 4871, German)
    - Windows XP PRO SP2
    - backing up as an admin

    Thx
    Wurzl
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2006
  2. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    It means that the checksum calculation for your file has failed. In otherwords it is corrupted. The most likely cause in your case (given that it happens for you during high compression) is faulty RAM. You only need one bit of the file to be corrupt for the checksum to fail.

    I suggest you download memtest from www.memtest.org and exercise your RAM to see if it is faulty.

    F.
     
  3. Wurzl

    Wurzl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Hi foghorne,

    thx for your quick answer. I'll download memtest and check my RAM. I also use DriveImage (PowerQuest) but I never got such an error - although I always use maximum compression. There seem to be different methods of compression.

    By the way, I didn't get some RAM-faults in other applications so far.

    Wurzl
     
  4. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    If you do have RAM problems, this is normal - as not that many programs are sensitive to a single bit error.

    F.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.