Experiences with various mandatory access control systems

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Gullible Jones, Sep 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lately I've been taking a look at MAC systems for Linux. Firefox with Noscript is all well and good, but it won't protect you from getting compromised through Skype or IM, or if a trusted website gets hacked... And with Linux getting more popular I think this stuff bears thinking about.

So far I've tried out two, AppArmor and Tomoyo 2. Both of them work very much like Geswall on Windows. The following is just my experience with them and some opinions on their usability. I am not a security expert, so I won't criticize their security, which I didn't do any tests of.

AppArmor

Tried on Bodhi Linux (i.e. Ubuntu).

Procedure: run 'aa-genprof firefox' as root. Start Firefox 6.0.2. Do stuff with Firefox. Type 'a' for 'allow' a bunch of times. Close Firefox, save profile, and restart Firefox to see what happens.

Results: Firefox crashes on start, no matter what I do when profiling. It seems that AppArmor isn't getting that Firefox needs access to stuff in /tmp, for some reason. Midori has the same issue.

Further results: the default usr.bin.firefox profile, while designed for Firefox 3.6, worked fine with 6.0.2. Groovy.

Conclusion: AppArmor seems to have some problems with generating profiles easily... Maybe because it's a bit paranoid? I don't know. OTOH the default profiles that ship with Ubuntu seem to work okay. I'll mess around with it some more and see where I get.

Tomoyo 2

Tried on Debian 6.

Procedure: Run Firefox 3.5. Run tomoyo-editpolicy, set Firefox's profile level to 1 (learning). Do stuff in Firefox. Set Firefox's profile level to 3 (enforcing). Do more stuff in Firefox.