Experiences with ThreatFire

Discussion in 'polls' started by progress, Apr 15, 2009.

?

What about your experiences with ThreatFire?

  1. It's perfect, I will keep it :)

    52 vote(s)
    31.7%
  2. It slowed down my machine :(

    65 vote(s)
    39.6%
  3. It killed my keyboard :(

    8 vote(s)
    4.9%
  4. It caused other problems (blue screen, reboot ...)

    39 vote(s)
    23.8%
  1. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,915
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    It ran great for about 36 hours then it stopped all I/O to HDD Killed keyboard and mouse also. Had to reinstall with an Image. It won't be going back on my computer. At first thought it was The Avira proactive beta but after reinstall of os and reinstall of Avira beta, machine still running great without Threatfire.

    bigc
     
  2. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Pretty sad to hear that. :( I've heard other people have similar problems, but not this serious.
     
  3. shakethebabyass

    shakethebabyass Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Posts:
    72
    I waited for almost a year after I got a 64bit machine to get the 64bit version of ThreatFire, to my dissapointment the latest version slows my computer to a crawl and I have a very fast computer.

    To bad, this program has potential.
     
  4. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,490
    It was fine, but i replaced it with OA
     
  5. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    Very very good against Zero day threats but it
    Slowed down my pc:doubt:
     
  6. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    my experience is good, but too consistently buggy and problem prone.
     
  7. RWB

    RWB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    It crashed my machine, had to revert to earlier setup. I then deleted all the
    folders holding the installation.
     
  8. progress

    progress Guest

    On Win 7 as well? I always had problems with ThreatFire on Win XP, but it seems to work fine on Win 7 :-* *knock on wood*
     
  9. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    same experience on every OS ive used, XP had the most, but Vista and 7 are still with their odd problems.
     
  10. JohnnyDollar

    JohnnyDollar Guest

    I used Threatfire a couple of yrs ago on an xp machine and it did fine. I was waiting on a compatible x64 version, but I keep reading similar comments to this one posted by bigc and I am afraid to try it again.:doubt: It seems like people have all these issues and then PCTools comes out with a newer version that supposedly fixes all the issues, but they still remain or become worse.:gack: I am starting to think that they ought to just cancel any further development and throw in the towel or hand it off to another security company that might be able to do something with it to make it more stable.:doubt:
     
  11. progress

    progress Guest

    It's slowing down my machine again - bye bye TF :oops:
     
  12. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    After switching to Instant System Recovery (Rollback Rx) and Virtualization (Sandboxie),
    I got rid off any Real-Time Scanners, Behavioral Blockers, HIPS etc.
    I haven't used TF since 2007.
    From what I've seen, here, TF isn't as Popular as it used to be...
     
  13. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    1,209
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    ... and also has not been upated since nov 2009.
    Since PCTools has now been sold to Symantec, I don't expect a new release ever.
     
  14. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,970
    Was it good.....yes
    Though now it seems like it is dieing :(
     
  15. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,490
    True, it seems like it will be dead soon, not many updates o_O
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.