Experiences with "Pro-active" Software

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by richrf, Apr 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. richrf

richrf Registered Member

Experiences with "Pro-active" Software (ProcessGuard, RegDefend, Prevx, etc.)

Hi all,

With KAV 6.0 adding Pro-Active Defense, I thought it might be interesting to set-up a thread to discuss experiences.

My own set-up includes ProcessGuard 3.0 which I have been using for several months (maybe a year), RegDefend which I have in place since it was released, and Prevx which I have no uninstalled.

Briefly this is my experience so far:

1) All are excellent programs that perform their job as advertised.

2) Not all programs trap all events - though there is plenty of overlap. So, most of the time that I install or update a program, I will receive messages from alerts from all three programs usually in this sequence: ProcessGuard (upon execution), RegDefend (on access to the registry), Prevx (on access to the protected directories - Program Files and Windows).

3) There are times when I will receive an alert from only one of the security programs, depending upon whether a user program has been given certain "rights" to one or more of the security programs, or depending upon what is being accessed. There has not been a time when a new isntallation or update has gotten passed all three programs. The overlapping coverage is excellent.

4) All three of these programs seem to be cooperating very well on my machine.

5) I have not seen a circumstance where ProcessGuard + RegDefend did not catch something that Prevx did. In other words, PG + RegDefend, so far in my experiences, have covered all situations. Prevx was an excellent second line of defense.