Experiences of Outpost v9.2 and 9.3 on XP please?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by trott3r, Dec 13, 2015.

  1. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    Hello,

    I have 9.1 running fine on xp pro sp3 but both v9.2 and 9.3 freeze the taskbar and start menu when launching a program eg firefox.

    Have people found 9.2 and 9.3 works fine with xp pro?
    Just wondering if it is my system or something other users are finding.

    thanks
    Martin
     
  2. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    I assume you are meaning Outpost....I have not gotten OSS to work on my system, but I haven't tried since v6...and that was few years ago, when that was released.
     
  3. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    Yes it is outpost.

    Can't believe I missed that off.

    Oss is the suite
     
  4. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,303
    Location:
    England
    Edited thread title to include the word Outpost
     
  5. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks
     
  6. KeyPer4Life

    KeyPer4Life Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    974
    IIRC was not able to install Outpost on an XP system. That was quite sometime ago and may have also
    been version 6. I ended up going with Online Armor and used that for quite sometime.
     
  7. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    I have tried online armour but i didnt get on with it.
    Cant remember the reason for it now, hmm maybe it was slowing machine down retrieve time in tinyres meter showing an increase since installation IIRC.

    I also liked private firewall but find the ad blocking in outpost better for me
     
  8. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    Online Armor is what I am presently using in one of my snapshots, but that will be coming to end early next year. Will no longer be developed by Emsisoft. :(
     
  9. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    does that just leave outpost as the only xp develop ed fw?
    Does commodore fw work on xp and develop ed?
     
  10. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    Comodo, Outpost and ZoneAlarm
     
  11. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks i thought zone alarm had evolved into a security suite only version.
     
  12. simmersK00L

    simmersK00L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Posts:
    118
    Location:
    USA
    I've been running Outpost Firewall Pro 9.1 -> 9.2 -> & now 9.3 on my xp. I have had no problems! Also run eset nod 32 v8 with eset HIPS turned off. so opfw for firewall and HIPS. It has been smoother for me than OA (for some reason). I also ran privatefirewall, and that seemed run fine, I don't recall why at the moment but I switched to opfw_pro and it's been great. Not sure how end of op will play out, despite reading all the posts. I did get the kis key, but have not removed opfw and have not installed kis (on this pc).
     
  13. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for the reply i have given up on getting either 9.2 or 9.3 working on xp for now.

    Sticking with 9.1
     
  14. loungehake

    loungehake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    Wigan
    Agnitum thoughtfully took note of my request that Outpost 9.3 (both Firewall and Security Suite) be able to run on systems with pre-SSE2 processors. Quite a few Windows XP installations are probably running on venerable hardware, mine included.

    I am delighted with Outpost 9.3 and look forward to continuing to take advantage of my two lifetime licences, one for Firewall and one for Security Suite (minus AV of course). With Windows 10 compatibility, the outlook with Outpost is good. It would be hard to break the habit of 15 years since I first used Outpost v1.
     
  15. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    Yeah i agree not upgradin my license to kaspersky.

    I have a 3570k processor and so is compatible without that support but there must be something else that is up for the bootup freezes to not go away after a couple of hard resets.
     
  16. Cabville

    Cabville Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Posts:
    65
    You used version 1? Your old school!!!! What was version 1 like?
     
  17. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,136
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    Version one was a sweet little program and just the beginning of an awesome
    firewall to this day..its the best out there!
    Mar 16th 2001 is when I first introduced to Outpost! thats many moons!! :)
     
  18. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Private FW is still very effective for XP, even though it's seemingly *abandonware*. Eventually there might be NO updated FWs for XP. Not to worry -- (1) just get a router with a really good internal FW, and (2) image your system disk diligently (FIFO) -- nothing fixes problems faster than restoring a clean image.
     
  19. loungehake

    loungehake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    Wigan
    The continued usefulness of OPFW 9.1 and OSS 9.1

    I have found that OPFW and OSS 9.3 have some compatibility issues with Avast and AVG. This is inspite of Outpost making its allowances for Avast and AVG products at install time. The issues do not occur with OFPW and OSS 9.1 although the Avast emergency updates do seem to be an irritant with Outpost version 9.1.

    I have a hunch that this issue arises with Windows XP as no sych problems have raised their heads with Windows 7 (64-bit).

    On the face of it, Agnitum only offers Outpost 9.1_4651 on its previous version downloads web page.

    Those wishing to download the later (August 2014) Outpost 9.1_4652 in its four guises can use the following URLs : -

    http://dl2.agnitum.com/OutpostProInstall_9.1.4652.exe
    http://dl2.agnitum.com/OutpostProInstall64_9.1.4652.exe
    http://dl2.agnitum.com/OutpostSecuritySuiteProInstall_9.1.4652.exe
    http://dl2.agnitum.com/OutpostSecuritySuiteProInstall64_9.1.4652.exe

    Those with lifetime licences should note that Outpost Security Suite works perfectly well as Firewall.

    They won't be there forever.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 10, 2016
  20. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    I do not run an av so it is not avast or avg. Only mbam on a scheduled scan.
     
  21. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Installed XP 32bit sp3 on ntel core 2 duo processor pc.this weekend and don't have any problems with OFP 9.3.Im running mbam pro real time with it.If the taskbar/menu freezes it sounds like cpu being hogged somewhere.Maybe install process lasso and see whats hogging cpu ?
     
  22. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    I cant get onto the desktop after installing outpost 9.2. or 9.3
    I could install process lasso before i install 9.x i guess.

    V9.1 works fine BTW
     
Loading...