exec protection

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by paulson, Jul 10, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. paulson

    paulson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    South Of Germany
    Hi guys, the question is: Do I have to run tds3 if I want the exec protection to do it's job or is it enough to activate it while tds running and it's there all the time waitin' in the background even when I'm not running tds3?

    Tia
    paulson
     
  2. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hi Paulson, welcome to the forum!
    Exec Protection can only be installed on registered versions.
    It is a hook which is used between that hook and Windows to check every executable file for malware before it is allowed to start.
    This means: you only need to install that exec protection once, but to function TDS needs to be started to enable windows to give that test to the exec protection --which happens anyway-- and to have it tested against the TDS databases. If TDS is not up, Windows will give it to the hook but that will not block malware as it can't test without TDS. It will not result in any errors but your system could get infected if you execute anything which should not have been running.
    Very occasionally you might like --for testing purposes for instance-- want or need to close the exec protection which you do in that same menu and after just install it again.
    If you ever need to uninstall TDS for a new install for instance, always make sure in that case you first uninstall exec protection before uninstalling TDS itself.

    If you like you can minimise TDS to the systray to have the Exec Protection functioning.
     
  3. paulson

    paulson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    South Of Germany
    Hi Jooske, thanks for your welcome and your answer.
    I am a registered user of the tds3 trojan defense suite. The 3 progs work very well. Yeah, the only thing is: for over a year I thought I am save with exec protection working in background without running tds3. Call me a dummy! Because of the help file saying that you won't see it in the task manager I thouhgt: That'll be ok. I'm lucky that nothing happend. Must be, because I was born on a sunny sunday... or keeping fingers and eyes away from the wrong sites. But because of using my machine for business I want to have it clean and save. From now on I will have tds running while surfin' the web.
    Thanks again
    paulson

    P.s. I know there's another forum for wormguard, I don't want to post there again to make them laugh too. Am I right that Wormguard is working in the background without having it started after every new boot after I installed the protection? I hope so...
     
  4. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    WormGuard is as invisible and starts with every reboot again, all by itself.
    And nobody laughs at you for asking questions!


    Did you also experience some with the scripts or didn't you download that part yet? And on top of this forum some testfiles you might like to play with, etc.
     
  5. paulson

    paulson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    South Of Germany
    Glad to hear WG is working. This is gonna be a long long night, I' ll start checking out the script stuff and try to get my speech engine a running. Up to now there's only one female voice that talks to me in englisch with a very strong german accent. I've downloaded some stuff from MS, let's see what happens.

    Talk to you later and good night
    paulson
     
  6. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    In the scriptspack is my InnerPeace.ss3 script, where Genie is used, and he has his own english voice.
    There are on that msagent download site various languages tts- engines available; the default is american english, you seem to have the german voice already, you might need the corresponding core language from the top download, not the msagent.exe itself, as you have that, but the language parts only. Wether you need that you can test on the test pages: www.microsoft.com/msagent, tryout agent is a page where he will indicate what is missing if things don't run fine.
    And i like to use the samples pages, where you even have an opportunity to try out a voice recognition interaction with Peedy the green parrot for ordering pizzas. If you still would have only one female voice (that is Mary, btw) you might like to look for the large SAPI4 SDK (around 40mb download) which has some 20 voices included and more options.
     
  7. paulson

    paulson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    South Of Germany
    Hi Jooske,
    thanks for your tipps, I think ntl I need a step by step schedule.
    I tried half the night but I didn't suceed. Now restored the image I took before and am willing to try again.
    There's still the mary voice with the german accent. What stuff do I have to download and install? I'm running Win XP prof.
    I have a spchapi in my tds folder (4.71.11.20.0), the one I downloaded from MS has 4.71.10.15.0 (why older? the one above is from 1999) and a spchapi.inf (12.01.1999, 57kb) and a spchapi.pnf (22.02.2004, 89,8kb). Should I install the spchapi.exe from MS or do I have to download the one from the tds site (another version?). I also downloaded tv enua.exe and genie.exe from MS. Could you put it in the right direction for me?
    Tia
    paulson
     
  8. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hmmmmmm the tv_enua should be the basic english speech engine, the spchapi in the TDS directory should connect the available speechengines on your system to TDS.
    Maybe MS did not renew their links, while TDS does grab the latest if possible.

    Do you have a german windows version, because of the german voice?

    In the first part on the msagent download page are the msagent coreparts; the basic you have already, so that partis not necessary anymore, but you could try if there is an US english one between them;
    little below the TTS engines, you might like to look for the US english TTS engine, which is the default and install it anyway default too.
    Little lower is the voice recognition engine, about a 6mb download
    And take all the msagent characters, also install default if you did not have them yet.
    Little lower where you got the sapi4 runtimes is the speechconsole too, which goes automatically into your windows control panel to be able to change speechengines, voices, etc.

    Does TDS give you other voices when in the configuration you test the voices and move the slider to other voices?
    No reason if anything goes wrong to put back older images, just install more TTS langauages which you need and the core parts for the same languages where available.

    If TDS after all those default installs and running the spchapi from it's directory still gives only one Mary voice, you might like in the speech area for the sapi4 SDK with the 20 voices in them. Ove rthe years i gathered some 57 voices by now, but for TDS i always keep with one nice voice which looks most like Merlin.

    I say XP ships with the msagent own version and sapi5, but that is for XP home, you can easily see if your pro has all those parts already, you should have a c:\windows\msagent folder (directory, sorry) with a chars folder in which the msagent characters go and in TDS you should see the agentsvr.exe in the process list.
    If not, that msagent part (special XP edition) should be on your install cd-rom
    You can test if it is all working on the tryout page where Peedy should jump up on that page and react on your button clicks and he brings his own voice with him.
    Till where did you come?
    If i know that i know what more to download and install default (all msagent things best go default, so they all work on every website and in every application)
    if you tyoe in TDS speak "hello there!" does it after you installed the default US english still sound german?
    I hjave it with lots of msagent supported websites discovering my dutch windows and location and start the dutch voice to speak the english words, french is also terrible with the dutch voice!
     
  9. paulson

    paulson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    South Of Germany
    Hi Jooske, thank you so much for all the information. I've printed out the stuff and also of some other postings and try again. I have a german version, in my tds options there are 21 different voices but only number 1 is working. (The woman with the accent). Will report in a few hours what happend.
    Have a nice day
    paulson
     
  10. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hmm that one voice might be in the tv_enua, not sure. As i wanted them all and intalled the whole sapi4 SDK version of 40MB, and on various websites got myself more voices and TTS engines, must have about 400 msagent characters, of which several have their own voices, but honestly said i didn't do too many new things with them long time.
    We're all waiting for ms to release a version of the msagents working with the sapi5 engine, which we would like in TDS too then of course.
    TDS 4 might work with both, don't know yet.

    You can test TDS working with the msagents with SS3 > Load Script > UserSubmitted > Jooske > InnerPeace.ss3 doubleclick to start it.
    You should get a little console and pressing the button should give you Genie jumping onto your screen and starting his remarcable recommendation for you :) He comes with his own voice, so if that would not be so then indeed some install would be missing and that would be in the field of the speech engines.
     
  11. paulson

    paulson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    South Of Germany
    Got it !!! Have seen your script, laughed and 've been reminded on eating and drinking someting, though it's 15:29 now.
    Big thanks to you again.

    One qu. is still there: In tds options I have now 14 out of 21 voices. 2 of them with germen accent, the others are english, brittish, american? Seems to me they are all modulations of one voice. I choose one to say all the "Good afternoon admin..." stuff but it sounds not really great. The others sound really insane. Is there a way to get f.e. the voice used by your script or any other good sounding voice to speak to me when tds has something to say? (Download the big 40MB package?)
    In win XP there is still only MS Sam as the default voice and theres no option to disable the sapi Version5 or switch to the Ver. 4.
    Though the script is working I am happy, the rest is only fine-tuning.
    Now I'm gonna eat something and then start checking out the scripts section.
    Bye, will be back later or tomorrow
    paulson
     
  12. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Glad it worked so far!
    The Mary voice can be on the phone, in a stadium, in a hall, in the room, all different sound effects. Mike is one of the basic voices too, maybe for SAPI5 and .NET replaced with SAM.
    If you look on top of this forum, there is that thread with test/demo files and some more links.
    If you get the wav and put that in c:\ and run the VBS script from TDS just like you did the other one, the wave is called to play, which i created with an Aussie female voice tts engine --TDS is Australian, so that's the only voice that fitts!--
    In that thread i posted a link to a demo with the new technologies used, so hear them sing, especially the duet is wonderful!

    If you downloaded and installed the Speech Control Panel (which was at the bottom of the msagent download page) you find it back in your windows control panel and there is where you change the Sapi engines 5 to 4.
    So the voice would sound better with "Guten Morgen Werlt!" but maybe it would sound too english! :D
    Maybe it is reset to english after visiting the tryout and sample pages at the msagent site again, that's where i go occasionally if i get stuck in a stubborn dutch detection.
     
  13. paulson

    paulson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    South Of Germany
    Hi, tons of tons of information. Thx.
    I have not installed the Speech Control Panel yet because on the MS site it's said that you must install it only on win98, me and 2000. Should I install it on Win XP?
    Gonna check out the wav file now.
    Paulson
     
  14. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Now you'll like Wayne's jukebox too (for music in fact, but ok, it is nice)
    It works on the wav too i guess, -- on my system i put the files to play always in the c:\ as the windows basic system is then forced to be used normally and it should work for every system.


    Is there any other way to tell XP to use the other SAPI4 then? How else can you change them etc? Could it be the page was not updated and they did not name XP yet? (after all those years? hmm)
    Did you try the demo pages there on line? Nothing to download, just visit the pages, let them do what they can do or tell what is wrong if they can't. those pages should use the sapi4 engine.
    Ahh on the tryout agent page Peedy is singing for you, happy birthday or the Daisy song! Must tell Daisey from the forum here! :D
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2004
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.