Exclusions

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by jon_fl, Mar 17, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jon_fl

    jon_fl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    242
    Should Security Apps be excluded in AMON? Do you exclude any App that hangs in the AMON status window? Should it constantly be scanning different Apps and programs? I already excluded BOCLEAN and now Winpatrol is constantly there. o_O
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,729
    Location:
    Texas
    Not recommended as per the help file. However, in order to prevent repetitive scanning, I excluded a few.

    I think the upcoming versions will deal with this particular question.
     
  3. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Having a process constantly listed there doesn't mean its being constantly scanned unless the 'scanned' number is also changing. It does constantly scan other files and processes according to your settings in 'setup' but it's very fast so you might only be seeing the last thing it has scanned?
     
  4. jon_fl

    jon_fl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    242
    Before I excluded BOCLEAN, it seemed like it was constantly scanned. I think this was addressed in a previous thread. Now it seems to constantly scan WinPatrol. I guess it's being addressed like ronjor said.
     
  5. Robyn

    Robyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,189
    I have BOClean and didn't think of adding this to the list but have added my firewall logs as suggested in Outpost forum to limit the mem usage of OP.
    Is there a directory to use for BOclean to tell NOD not to scan this?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  6. Howard

    Howard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    313
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    I use the following two entries:

    C:\PROGRA~1\NSCLEAN\BOCLEAN\BOC412.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\BOC412.INI
     
  7. Robyn

    Robyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,189
    Thanks Howard, I have added these as files to exclude from scanning.

    When I used this method of adding 'files' to exclude I noticed I had added my Outpost logs as directories but have now navigated to them and found them as files and do not have the folder icon now but the other little logo. Is if best to add as files rather than directories?
     
  8. Howard

    Howard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    313
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    I find out the correct entries only by trial and error both with regard to files/directories and with respect to long or DOS file names. Sometimes both long and DOS names need to be used. And if this sounds messy, that's because, in my view, it is.
     
  9. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Although it may seem simple enough for NOD to figure out the short/long filenames internally, and it is possible but this way is MUCH more effiecient I'd be sure.
    You only have to look at it once, set it and thats all.
    [thread=69331]Exclusions LFN v. 8.3 format?[/thread]
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2005
  10. Robyn

    Robyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,189
    oops looks like I have a lot more to learn on how to exclude things via Amon now o_O thanks for the link I will have to work it all out now :oops:
     
  11. Robyn

    Robyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,189
    o_O I am really unsure now about the enter twice with BOclean and the others to make sure they are excluded from the scanning.

    I have set BOClean as posted above but should I have another 2 entries for this? I would like to understand this better as I didn't do anything like this with my last AV. :oops: Hopefully the new version will help me to set this up correctly.
     
  12. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    well the simple answer is yes you need the two entries if you want to be sure something is really excluded all of the time. If it doesn't show up as being scanned with the settings you have then they are probably enough. The need for setting exclusions because of repeated scanning should be eliminated with the new 'optimise scanning' feature :)
     
  13. Robyn

    Robyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,189
    Thank you for this, I will look forward to the new version :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.