Exclusions not working

Discussion in 'Other ESET Business Products' started by cigar_boy, Apr 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cigar_boy

    cigar_boy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Canada
    Eset File Security Version 4.5.12005.0

    I'm running into an issue on a XP Pro with a mapped drive to the Server (2k8 R2 64 BIT, with ADS Server installed) where Eset on the server is locking up files needed for the POS software to run over night tasks that connect to the ADS server via a mapped drive. All of the directories, files and mapped drives associated with it have been set up as exclusions. Disabling Eset on the server resolves the issue.
    This only started when I installed Eset AV, previously had AVG and had no issues occuring.

    Is there another box I need to check somewhere to make Eset completely ignore these files and locations?
     
  2. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Can you tell us what exclusions you entered?

    Also, it might be helpful to check with ESET support at +1 (866) 343-3738 to see if there are any known issues between ESET File Security for Microsoft Windows Server and the POS software?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  3. cigar_boy

    cigar_boy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Canada
    Hello
    I have the following exceptions:
    *.fpt, *.dbf, *.cdx, all the folders that the software is installed on the local
    2K8 R2 server with the ADS Server on it, a mapped drive to the folder the XP pro box that runs the over night processes.
    Nothing has ever been flagged or hit by Eset, no logs or entries recorded.
    When I have Eset active every couple of days I get errors related to file access on my XP box. With Eset de-activated no errors for weeks on end, till I re-activate Eset. To me this points to Eset. Any ideas ?
     
  4. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    That sounds like they were entered correctly, so I am unsure why this problem persists for you. At this point, I would recommend giving ESET's technical support department a call and ask them to investigate this further.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  5. Geosoft

    Geosoft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    I might be late to the party on this, but maybe try this as a work around?

    suggest.png
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.