Exclusion of subfolders in V4

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by dsancho, Mar 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dsancho

    dsancho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Hello!

    I have defined a backup folder as excluded from the AV scanning, but when doing the backup, all subfolders are scanned. Is there any way to exclude a folder with it's subfolders?

    Thanks
     
  2. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Hello dsancho,

    Can you check to make sure *.* is at the end of the file path?

    Thank you,
    Richard
     
  3. dsancho

    dsancho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Yes, it is.

    I have the following exclusions:
    D:\Source\*.*
    K:\Backups\David\*.*

    I'm using eset 4.0.314.0 in windows vista home premium x64
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    How do you know that files in these folders and subfolders are scanned? Does real-time protection detect some files there?
     
  5. dsancho

    dsancho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    I figure out because I see in the statistics window messages (file being scanned and total number of scanned files).

    If I stop the real time scanner, the statistics remain unchanged.
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Could you please put eicar.com to the excluded folder to test the exclusion?
     
  7. wrathchild

    wrathchild Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    170
    Location:
    Neoplantesis
    I can confirm that. In both v3 and v4.
    I've put the root folder of Adobe CS3 applications to exclusion list and then I've been monitoring real time scanner activity when starting applications.
    In v3 I've figured that exclusion doesn't work as it should based on number of scanned files and in v4 I simply saw which files are scanned in realtime.
    Something is wrong for sure...counter or exclusion. :doubt:
     
  8. dsancho

    dsancho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    I have done and looks like it's working well. It's quite strange... May be the counter is counting all the files instead of the scanned ones.

    Thanks
     
  9. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    I'm pretty sure it's the counter. To test this you can right click a folder and select scan, it will skip the entire folder.
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Could you test with eicar.com if files in that folder are actually scanned?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.