Excluding Snapshots folder from AV/AS scans?

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by Birdman, Jul 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Birdman

    Birdman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Posts:
    571
    Is there a way to EXCLUDE the FD-ISR "snapshots" from being scanned by anti-virus and anti-spyware programs?

    Currently I have 2 created snapshots and I've noticed a significant increase in scanning time when running both my AV and my AS programs. Correct me if I'm wrong, but any additional snapshots would significantly increase scanning time. Basically having 2 extra snapshots would TRIPLE the normal scanning time?

    IF I wanted to just have the PRIMARY drive scanned....what folder(s), that contain the FD-ISR snapshots, do I exclude from being scanned?

    Is this even possible?

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2006
  2. theshadow247

    theshadow247 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    323
    Location:
    ontario.canada
    its always a good idea to scan your backups and archived folders incase of infection's.lets say your primary gets infected,and you go to restore one of you other snapshots or archives and its also infected.that just leaves you infected..
     
  3. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    That would depend upon your particular virus scanner and how it can be configured. Using NOD, no, you have to scan everything. I got around that by creating a custom scan, or whatever it is called, and added all folders from my c:drive except for the other Snapshots. I really wish NOD had an exclusion feature for on-demand scans. Good luck.

    Acadia
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    Hi Birdman

    Kav 6.0 and Avast Pro don't scan them by default. SuperAntispyware has an exclude option to stop scanning them. You have to turn on viewing hidden and system files and them look for the $isr folder and any directories like 1 or 2 etc you can exclude. Don't exclude 0 though.

    Pete
     
  5. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,634
    Location:
    UK
    I think it's safe to exclude the whole $ISR folder as it scans your c: drive anyway, which is the composite of 0.
     
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    I think you are right.
     
  7. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    IME, most AV's do not scan all of the snapshots. Amongst 10 different AV's that I have tested, only Dr Web and NOD scan all of the snapshots but only the former AV can directly exclude the different snapshots.

    But with a limited number of snapshots, NOD is still very fast scanning all of the snapshots.
     
  8. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    My system partition [C:] = 9.73 GB and contains two snapshots :
    Snapshot-1 = 3.84 GB and Snapshot-2 = 3.84 GB
    It took NOD32 11m32s to scan my system partition.
    My personal data on my data partition [D:] is not included.
     
  9. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    I use the maximum of 10 Snapshots, which is why I set up NOD as explained above. If I only had 2-4 Snaps, I would probably not have bothered to set up a custom scan.

    Acadia
     
  10. Birdman

    Birdman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Posts:
    571
    Thanks to everyone for your help and input. I have excluded the suggested folder from future scanning. :)
     
  11. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    To all:

    As always in discussions it is difficult at times to not mention other software when assisting others. However....what I will ask We not do is deviate from the FDISR Forums intended specific support purpose and provide support for other software specific functions. Let's take our other software support to one of our appropriate forums Please.

    Thanks,
    Bubba
     
  12. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Post removed and as was requested above...."take our other software support to one of our appropriate forums Please".

    Certain FDISR forum OT posts were split off and combined in a more appropriate forum. Please follow the below link for further discussion.

    How to setup a custom scan

    Thanks,
    Bubba
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2006
  13. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Bubba,
    Cannot access your link in post #12: not enough privileges? :oops:

    can I have some? :D
    Please.
     
  14. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,634
    Location:
    UK
    I actually made a post there a few moments ago, but can't access the thread now for the same reasons as you. However, I can still view the post by going to my Profile, and checking all posts made by me.
     
  15. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Sorry about that but due to some turn of events and duplicate posting of the concerned party....some special manipulating\extra work had to go into fixing what now should be a good link.

    Carry on Please....sorry for the OT.

    and no you can't have some :p
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.