Exclude from AMON with wildcards (2.x)

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by kongomongo, Nov 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kongomongo

    kongomongo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Hi,

    I want to exclude a folder within my profile folder under Windows XP from realtime scanning with AMON. The folder contains the offline cache database of my Email client.

    It looks like this:

    C:\Documents and Settings\myusername\Local Settings\Settings\Company\

    Normally i would just add that path. But now I want to create a .XML config file that is valid for any PC and any user. So I would need to mask the username bit.

    I have tried various strings like:

    *\Local Settings\Settings\Company\
    *\Local Settings\Settings\Company\*
    C:\Documents and Settings\*\Local Settings\Settings\Company\
    C:\Documents and Settings\*\Local Settings\Settings\Company\*
    %USERPROFILE%\Local Settings\Settings\Company\
    %USERPROFILE%\Local Settings\Settings\Company\*

    to no avail. Can anyone help?

    Thanks in advance.

    - kongo
     
  2. ralfonat

    ralfonat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Noone done this before?

    - kongo
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Wildcards in exclusions are partially supported in v3 (EAV/ESS). As for variables, they are neither supported in v2 nor v3.
     
  4. ralfonat

    ralfonat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Thanks for you reply. So in other words it is impossible in v2 and

    C:\Documents and Settings\*\Local Settings\Settings\Company\*

    would work in v3?
     
  5. ralfonat

    ralfonat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Posts:
    12
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    No, wildcards are not supported in v2
     
  7. ralfonat

    ralfonat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    And

    C:\Documents and Settings\*\Local Settings\Settings\Company\*

    works in v3?
     
  8. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Yeah it does.
     
  9. ralfonat

    ralfonat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Thanks!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.