Ewidoguard.EXE

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by WilliamP, Feb 13, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I have the paid full version of Ewido and had problems with Ewidoguard eating up CPU so I made Real Time Protection inactive. But I have NOD32 and Amon shows it as if it is active . Also it shows in Task Manager. Doesn't that mean it is running?
     
  2. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Hi WilliamP,

    If you only disable the real time protection, the guard still be there..
    You have to choose the "remove guard" from de main window of ewido to disable the "Ewidoguard.EXE".

    Hope that this can help... ;)
     
  3. peter.ewido

    peter.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    Does it still consume CPU power even when the protection is turned off?
     
  4. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Hi fish25,

    on my system, yes!

    I test it only with the auto update enable...

    After 1h30m of starting the windows, the NOD32 takes 5.748secs of my CPU, and the "ewidoguard.exe" takes 20.609secs... And I didn't have the "ewidoguard.exe" starting with the windows...

    I hope that the new version will improve this ;)

    Regards
     
  5. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Even without the auto update option enable, it consumes CPU...
     
  6. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Obviously, it does depend on invididual systems in use - running over here for at least 14 days in a row, resulting in this

    regards,

    paul
     

    Attached Files:

  7. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Sorry about the delay in responding Fish. In answer to your question. So long as Real Time Protection is inactive there is no problem. As soon as it is activated it goes wild.
     
  8. quexx88

    quexx88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Posts:
    235
    Location:
    Radnor, Pennsylvania
    Woah, how is your RAM usage that low? I have ewido using a constant 14mb. What AV/firewall are you using it with?
     
  9. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    How do I determine the CPU/RAM usage?
    Jerry
     
  10. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    ctrl-alt-del and go to the process involved and see how much mem is using and cpu%

    that is it

    for the record mine is using 12mb in mem with a 3.4 Prescott so I doubt if it has anything to do with the kind of speedy processor however the amd64 are known to be very good at processor usage
     
  11. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    INFINITY,
    Thanks a lot. I have seen these type discussions, but never knew how to find the usage.

    Jerry
     
  12. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    quite welcome, please check the column: virtual memory which is in most cases far more important then the plain memory. but sometimes we all forget :)

    cheers
     
  13. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    And that column (virtual memory) is found in the menubar under: "view" > "select column". Mine is using 13.2mb.:)

    BTW. I never forget, but sometimes i can't remember. ;) :D
     
  14. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    What is the difference between virtual memory and plain memory?

    Jerry
     
  15. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2005
  16. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Thanks, Ron.That is helpful.

    Jerry
     
  17. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    You are welcome Jerry. :)
     
  18. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I am confused as to what is Realtime Protection if it isn't Ewidoguard.exe?
     
  19. peter.ewido

    peter.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    It is ewidoguard.exe but you can disable the protection by using the context menu... If the protection is disabled, does it still consume cpu power?
     
  20. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Did you read my post?
     
  21. peter.ewido

    peter.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    Yes, thanks ;)
     
  22. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Here's mine:
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.