ewido

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by waters, Jul 17, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    Ewido has just been installed and 1st scan has found 9 problems and sent to quarantine.Ad aware found nothing.Is there a place to do a scan for spyware,i mean like jottis
     
  2. ;D ;D ;D

    ;D ;D ;D Guest

    Webroot has a free spyware scan available. http://www.webroot.com/services/spyaudit_03.htm?WRSID=cdd3165ae35fb3141b661b6453145bd0
    Another is Pest Scan by Pest Patrol. http://home.ca.com/dr/v2/ec_main.en...lient=ComputerAssociates&sid=35715&CID=188513
    But neither will remove any spyware that they find, they only report it if found on your system.

    That's why I would consider downloading Microsoft's anti-spyware, A Squared or Spybot, and do scans with them. All three are free. I'm not sure how accurate either online scan really is, and you could get false positives with either. That's why the free programs I mentioned (MSAS, A2 & Spybot) are really your best bet for cross checking for spyware/malware. Hth.
     
  3. TopperID

    TopperID Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,527
    Location:
    London
    The new ewido has the possibility to configure its scan settings. If you have every box ticked you are going to be finding a lot of minor stuff and 'riskware' that you may not even want to delete. So what exactly did ewido find?

    After a scan you have the option to save the report, this is useful for refering back to. If you have it why not post it here?
     
  4. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    Thanks,but what i did was quarentine.I then did some online scans which found nothing.
    I then installed a2 and microsoft beta.
    Both found nothing,so i uninstalled ewido.
    I used to have ewido but previously uninstalled it after deleatingsome alerts,to then find some things would not work.
    I think i will stick to adaware and a2.
     
  5. peter.ewido

    peter.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    What about posting the contents of the quarantine?
     
  6. peter.ewido

    peter.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    How should other scanners detect quarantined items? They simply can't...

    Are you really expecting other scanners to detect something AFTER the ewido security suite has cleaned your system to show that the detections by ewido were valid? Or am I missing something here?
     
  7. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    Restored first.But you have them because i sent them to ewido
     
  8. peter.ewido

    peter.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    As we are getting a massive amount of submitted files every day I need more details about the submission, thanks :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2005
  9. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    Decided to install ewido again just to see what it found this time,last time i didnt know about scan report.
    This time it only found 1 problem.Spyware.Cookie.Questionmarket .
    Will keep ewido and see how it goes .
    Used the 3 version and thought how good it was .
    tried the beta i think and had false posatives,so uninstalled.
    I think this is why when i tried it again and it found so many problems i didnt trust it.
    Also after installing it i rebooted before i did a scan.
    last time i dont think i did.
     
  10. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I wish I would have such a lot of "riskware" and minor stuff after scanning. Nothing shows up here (full scan, all options checked). I had some fp's in the 3.5 beta, only 4 or 5.

    Gerard
     
  11. TopperID

    TopperID Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,527
    Location:
    London
    You're lucky, I've got 4 pieces of Riskware, all relating to my ISP and entirely harmless - but with the characteristics of 'diallers'. KAV also finds them, but I can exclude them from KAV scans.

    Then there are all those Tracking Cookies that could be found (not that I have any), there may even be minor Adware on a system that the owner wishes to retain.

    Who knows what Waters found - he's not saying!

    These aren't FPs - they are actual findings!
     
  12. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.