ewido

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by waters, Jan 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    HI.
    Just downloaded ewido.In scanner at bottom there is check boxes for Binder,Crypter,and Archives .
    Archives is grayed out.
    Does this mean it scans archives or not
     
  2. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    It should look like the screencap, if it doesn't it must mean that the trial has somehow "expired on install" and i would imagine that it doesn't scan archives. Contact Ewido support, i'm sure they will help you get your trial back. :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • 12.png
      12.png
      File size:
      60.5 KB
      Views:
      741
  3. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    thanks.
    used it before some time ago .trial has run out so i guess free version disables this.
     
  4. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Yes. :)
     
  5. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    what about a2 .is this the same.thanks
     
  6. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    I don't know, but i am sure someone else does around here. :)
     
  7. TopperID

    TopperID Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,527
    Location:
    London
    Sorry, but I don't think A2 scans within archives unless you have the Beta version - however I'm not 100% certain, so someone please correct me if I'm wrong.
     
  8. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    Ditto for mine after the trial period ran out.
     
  9. quexx88

    quexx88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Posts:
    235
    Location:
    Radnor, Pennsylvania
    Since your trial has run out, I would like to say that it is really a great product that has saved me many times, and is well worth the money :D
     
  10. JayTee

    JayTee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Posts:
    166
    Hmm,

    actually I never had it catch any trojans, only spyware so I can't say.

    However, ewido has been acting strangely on the UI side. Somehow the app 'flickers' when it is running.
     
  11. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    Never had it find anything whatsoever......but I do like that there are updates nearly every day!
     
  12. TopperID

    TopperID Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,527
    Location:
    London
    Nearly every day!!! - recently it has been updating more than once a day; but I guess you wouldn't know that unless you have the resident guard which pops up a balloon to tell you at each update.
     
  13. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    can you tell me how to get a2 beta
     
  14. harddrive

    harddrive Guest

    Does anyone know if Ewido (free) will detect rootkits?
     
  15. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    I guess it does, but not in real time :)
     
  16. TopperID

    TopperID Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,527
    Location:
    London
    To get A2 you register and receive a code number. You will have the chance to select beta by ticking the right box. You can change your mind and go from beta to regular and back again at any time, by going to the home page and using your user name and code to log in and tick/untick the box. Then you simply do an update to effect the change.

    As to rootkits, I guess that if an AT or AV has the right sigs it will find them, if not it won't. I'm not aware of it having special rootkit sniffing abilities; but then again I stand to be corrected!
     
  17. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    thanks for the help topperid
     
  18. TopperID

    TopperID Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,527
    Location:
    London
    Just for the sake of completeness, I thought I'd mention that A2 beta will scan within archives if you put a tick in the box: "Innerhalb von Archiven scannen".

    Because this will involve a lot of unpacking and repacking, scans will take much longer. If you want to speed up the scan untick the box, but then you won't be looking into archives of course.
     
  19. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    That's the result of the custom GUI. Just try using Ewido in Safe Mode (without full graphics drivers), or using remote-access software. It's a genuine problem, and they already know full well how I feel about it, so I can shut up now. :)
    -
     
  20. JayTee

    JayTee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Posts:
    166
    nameless,

    the strange thing was that it was running ok when I first installed it. Of course, I never looked at ewido's UI again until a few months later after I trial-ed other AV software (F-Prot and BitDefender 8 for work).

    Cheers
     
  21. polak

    polak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Posts:
    38
    Location:
    Canada
    Originally Posted by JayTee
    However, ewido has been acting strangely on the UI side. Somehow the app 'flickers' when it is running.

    Not sure if it's the same issue in your PC, but found I got a "flicker" with SpywareGuard running. When I shut down SpywareGuard, Ewido ran without any "flickering"
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.