Even after proper drivers, Acronis Universal Restore fails

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by exus69, Dec 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    The registry changes are sooo easy that even a child can do. Boot the Dell into IDE mode by changing into BIOS from ACHI to IDE. Make the registry changes, so that you can boot into either IDE or ACHI mode. Shutdown and change in BIOS to ACHI mode and it should work.

    Simple! :) No rocket science required.

    Best regards,

    Mohamed
     
  2. exus69

    exus69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Posts:
    164
    Hi Mohamed,

    I've already tried that and written about it in my post no.1 and 4 but that has not solved my problem.
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,170
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I misunderstood. OK, BIOS in AHCI mode. Create a folder called Drivers on the UFD and copy the Dell AHCI drivers to the folder.

    Boot the UFD
    Keep it and go to operations
    Remove installed drivers
    Remove all installed drivers
    Go to Driver Install
    Install a specific driver
    Your Drivers folder line should be already selected. Press Enter
    select the ahci inf
    Auto Detect
    Do not filter
    Enter
    Go back to menu
    Exit

    Any luck?
     
  4. exus69

    exus69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Posts:
    164
    No it does not boot. Unfortunately, the storage controller drivers for Toshiba C850 are not in inf format. I downloaded it from multiple sources. So I am using random AHCI drivers downloaded from the net as well as already backed up AHCI driver using Double Driver. The backed up AHCI driver says oem2.inf seems like its the native AHCI driver of Win7.

    Do you think I need to change HAL or its still a HDD driver problem?
     
  5. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    The best drivers for ACHI is not Microsoft drivers, it is Intel RST drivers.

    https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Se...=Intel® Rapid Storage Technology (Intel® RST)

    It is the second one from the top.

    Best regards,

    Mohamed
     
  6. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Hi there,

    Then why waste so much time. You should be able in this time to set up your new Dell from scratch, moving all your licenses.

    Best regards,

    Mohamed
     
  7. exus69

    exus69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Posts:
    164
    I was wondering since Dell 2520 is in ATA mode and Toshiba C850 is in AHCI mode is it necessary to restore Dell in Toshiba in AHCI mode?? Why cant we just install it in ATA mode in Toshiba?
     
  8. exus69

    exus69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Posts:
    164
    If I get success doing this then I can save alot of time in future.
     
  9. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Hi there,

    This is what I thought you did when I suggested the regisrtry changes.

    1. Install in IDE/ATA mode in Toshiba.
    2. Boot into the system.
    3. Add the registry entries for ACHI mode.
    4. Shutdown the computer.
    5. Change in BIOS to ACHI mode.
    6. Boot into the system and it will install the ACHI drivers, and then it will ask you to reboot.
    7. Reboot and done.

    BTW, the Intel RST ACHI driver which I posted above is much, much better than the regular (vanilla) Microsoft ACHI driver.

    Best regards,

    Mohamed
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2014
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,170
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Here is the Dell Vostro driver site...

    http://www.dell.com/support/drivers/au/en/audhs1/Product/vostro-2510?s=dhs

    Unfortunately, no AHCI drivers in inf format.

    As Aladdin mentioned, you need to get Intel drivers from the Intel site. This may be suitable...

    https://downloadcenter.intel.com/De...ID=18668&keyword=floppy ahci drivers&lang=eng

    STOR_all32_f6flpy_9.5.0.1037_PV.zip

    It contains iaAHCI.inf

    Or from Aladdin's link, find the Intel Rapid Storage Technology driver 12.9.0.1001. Select it and download f6flpy-x86.zip. Unzip it and put all the files in the Drivers folder you made. (you might need to try older drivers if that doesn't work)

    The Dell Vostro BIOS must be in AHCI mode. (RAID/AHCI or something like that)
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2014
  11. exus69

    exus69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Posts:
    164
    Thanks for the help I am going out of station for work and will not be able to try before 17th feb. Will keep you'll posted
     
  12. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1,081
  13. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,170
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I thought you had 32-bit Win7. If 64-bit, get the Intel 64-bit drivers.
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,170
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  15. exus69

    exus69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Posts:
    164
    Hello,

    I've tried using all the AHCI drivers from the above links and none of them have worked for me. It keeps BSODing. Please reply to this:
    AHCI mode is not important for me. The computer should boot thats it...
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2014
  16. exus69

    exus69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Posts:
    164
    I tried restoring Windows in ATA (Compatibility) mode on Toshiba laptop and using the default IDE driver option in OSDTOOL but again BSOD:(
     
  17. minhnhatbk47

    minhnhatbk47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Vietnam
    I think you can try this method
    Backup your old laptop
    Remove anti virus program on old laptop to avoid some problem and you can reinstall after
    Use sysprep tool of Microsoft which integrate in Windows 7
    Search the way to use that tool and it is very easy
    Run it and power off your laptop and then make an image of system drive
    Deploy that image to new laptop
    Done
     
  18. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,170
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    In your first post you said...

    Now you are trying to restore the image back to the Toshiba...

    Is that correct? The image won't restore to the original computer?
     
  19. exus69

    exus69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Posts:
    164
    Thats correct I am not using Toshiba C660 anymore so I am trying to restore Dell Vostro 2520 to Toshiba C850 laptop.

    Edit: I just realised on my source laptop (Dell 2520) in disk management there's a 350mb OEM partition before C: Could that be the source of the problem? But when I had taken its image it was only C drive and nothing else.

    I will definitely try that but only once am done with OSDTOOL.
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2014
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.