Evaluating TI2009 - Couple of Problems

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by cyautomation, May 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cyautomation

    cyautomation Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    I am evaluating TI2009 latest build 9709 on my Vista Ultimate SP1. Having used the application for almost 7 days and compared it with some other (DriveClone, Genie and DriveBackup ) I am now very close in making my decision and purchase it.

    Just a couple of problems:

    FTP: when I try to make a new FTP connection to ftp.drivehq.com the screen freezes and the application crashes. I tried to connect to my other ftp site located at Yahoo and the connection is successful. I can connect to the ftp.drivehq.com using FileZilla and via Windows Explorer without any problem.

    RESTORE: When I try to restore a file from the bootable CD or the Startup Recovery Manager the Original Location button is disabled. I can only select the New Location button. When I do the same from Windows I get both options.

    A final note is that when I try to restore an Image from the bootable CD or the Startup Recovery Manager , after I select the Partition and press the next button, I get a bib and a white screen without the message “Analysing Partition D:…”. All keys freeze and you think that the application crashed. If you wait for some time (it really takes more than 5 minutes on my system) the next screen appears as expected and you can continue. For some reason the message does not appear -as it does in Windows- and this is quite confusing.
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello cyautomation,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis True Image

    FTP. There can be several reasons of the encountered issue:

    - FTP-server must allow passive mode for file transfers.
    - It is recommended that you change the source computer Firewall settings to open ports 20 and 21 for both TCP and UDP protocols and disable the Routing and Remote Access Windows service.
    - Acronis True Image cannot access FTP servers that do not confirm transfer completion after the LIST command or do not support MLST and MLSD commands. At the moment, there is no solution. This is expected to be fixed in future updates.
    - Acronis True Image does not create a new control connection when the server drops the first one due to timeout.

    As a workaround, try doing the following:

    * Increase timeout for idle control connection in the settings of FTP server;
    * Set the size value in Archive splitting settings to 200 MB (Tools -> Options -> Default backup options).

    I am sending an ISO file to you via PM, please create another Acronis Booting Rescue Media and see if the issue remains.

    To find the exact reason of the described behavior we need one diagnostic file. Could you please do the following?

    Please download Acronis Report utility available here and run it, create a report and attach the file to your post.

    This would provide us with detailed information on the hard disk partition structure.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  3. cyautomation

    cyautomation Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Thank you for sending me the ISO file. I created a new boot CD and repeated the steps but unfortunately there is no change. I still do not get any message, the screen remains white and after a few minutes it proceeds to the next step.

    As far as the FTP is concerned, I changed the registry, also added the ports to my Firewall but still I cannot connect. I will send you the details as requested.

    Now I am having another problem! I checked my logs today and to my surprise all scheduled jobs disappeared and I get the following types of errors:

    <log build="9709" product="Acronis*True*Image*Home" task="7A627BAF-5275-48D8-889A-4DFA8E4881BE" uuid="9E4F7B33-1E09-4EC7-A391-E48E23A7E6EB" version="12.0">
    <event code="108" id="1" level="4" message="No such script &quot;7A627BAF-5275-48D8-889A-4DFA8E4881BE&quot;" module="1" time="1242777601" />
    <event code="100" id="2" level="3" message="Failed to process pair script:7A627BAF-5275-48D8-889A-4DFA8E4881BE" module="1" time="1242777601" />
    <event code="5" id="3" level="4" message="Operation has completed with errors." module="100" time="1242777601" />
    </log>
    <log build="9709" product="Acronis*True*Image*Home" task="F6B945CB-FC62-4357-B508-E6BC37FE7819" uuid="C77A168B-E5F1-4D16-B0CA-5767912A3BCE" version="12.0">
    <event code="108" id="1" level="4" message="No such script &quot;F6B945CB-FC62-4357-B508-E6BC37FE7819&quot;" module="1" time="1242781201" />
    <event code="100" id="2" level="3" message="Failed to process pair script:F6B945CB-FC62-4357-B508-E6BC37FE7819" module="1" time="1242781201" />
    <event code="5" id="3" level="4" message="Operation has completed with errors." module="100" time="1242781201" />
    </log>
    <log build="9709" product="Acronis*True*Image*Home" task="FB34B50E-0ABF-4C15-B404-F99CC35E1B78" uuid="75E90BAD-980C-4ADD-BE78-1A0C7A4E07C5" version="12.0">
    <event code="108" id="1" level="4" message="No such script &quot;FB34B50E-0ABF-4C15-B404-F99CC35E1B78&quot;" module="1" time="1242784803" />
    <event code="100" id="2" level="3" message="Failed to process pair script:FB34B50E-0ABF-4C15-B404-F99CC35E1B78" module="1" time="1242784803" />
    <event code="5" id="3" level="4" message="Operation has completed with errors." module="100" time="1242784803" />

    I run the setup program again and selected to Repair Acronis but no results. I also did a System Restore from my backup set but again no results.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello cyautomation,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    To resolve the issue please re-start Acronis scheduler:

    - Download a special Acronis utility;
    - Start the Command Prompt from Start -> Programs -> Accessories menu;
    - Run the following commands in the folder you saved the file to:

    schedmgr task zap
    schedmgr service stop
    schedmgr service uninstall
    schedmgr service install
    schedmgr service start

    This should delete all Acronis tasks on the PC. You should manage your tasks from the scratch. Recreate the task and see if the issue remains.

    If the issue persists, please download Acronis Scheduler, which is a special utility to update the scheduler service. The link is available here

    Extract the downloaded file, run install.bat and wait for the process to be completed. The utility will automatically update the service. Reboot the computer and re-create the task. The issue should be resolved.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.