ESS won't install

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Buddha_32, Dec 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Buddha_32

    Buddha_32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Hi

    I'm a long time EAV user and am currently using V3. I have purchased ESS and tried to install but it fails towards the end of the setup process saying setup ended prematurely but no useful information as to why is given. This is the message that the program gives;

    ESS New wizard ended.jpg

    This is the last screen that I see before setup fails and displays the above screen;

    ESS Last screen before wizard ended.jpg

    According to the FAQs, this screen should appear after the above screen but setup fails before this screen appears;

    ESS New network detected.jpg

    Before installing I uninstalled my previous anti-spyware software, cleaned the registry, rebooted and closed down all processes that aren't required.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Johno
     
  2. COSMO26

    COSMO26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    404
    Though not a definitive solution, there is a prior post with varied "educated guesses" to pursue Clk HERE
     
  3. ugly

    ugly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Romania
    Try to disconnect before ESS install.:ninja:
    Works for me.
     
  4. Elwood

    Elwood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Posts:
    205
    Location:
    Mis'sippi
    I just had to install the original release version, then install the newer version over the top to overcome this problem. Seems to have worked.

    I ran the Windows Installer Cleanup utility, but nothing to do with Eset appeared there.
     
  5. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    929
    Ctl, Alt, Del. End Process: ekrn.exe. Then it will install.

    Silver
     
  6. Elwood

    Elwood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Posts:
    205
    Location:
    Mis'sippi
    I had already uninstalled ESS in order to perform a flawless graphics driver update, ekern.exe did not exist on my system at the time I tried to install the latest release.
     
  7. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    929
    That file was left behind when I uninstalled ESS.
     
  8. Buddha_32

    Buddha_32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks for the feedback and ideas. So far no joy. o_O

    Elwood, where could I get a copy of the original installation release? I haven't been able to find it.

    Buddha
     
  9. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

  10. Elwood

    Elwood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Posts:
    205
    Location:
    Mis'sippi
    I had it in my downloads folder, I don't think it's available for download anymore.
     
  11. Buddha_32

    Buddha_32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Ok. Thanks anyway.


    HiTech_boy
    Have done that and am working through it with Eset.

    Thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.