ESS + Network magic...

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Atomas31, Mar 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Atomas31

    Atomas31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Posts:
    923
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Hi,

    I was wondering how to configure ESS 4.0 to be able to use Network magic pro?

    I have try the suggest configuration of ESS from the Network magic support information but no can't do?

    Is there a way to remove the actual rules of NM on ESS firewalls rules list and start over with the interactive mode?

    Thanks for your help,
     
  2. Atomas31

    Atomas31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Posts:
    923
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Where is ESS support?
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,719
    Location:
    Texas
  4. Atomas31

    Atomas31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Posts:
    923
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Thanks Ronjor for the link, I had already read it and try it before posting... I am looking for something else that could work and wich doesn't imply to disable ESS firewall everytime I want to share fileo_O
     
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,719
    Location:
    Texas
    Did you try the learning mode in the Version 4 firewall?
     
  6. Atomas31

    Atomas31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Posts:
    923
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    I don't think so! How do we place v. 4 firewall in learning mode?

    Thanks,
     
  7. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,719
    Location:
    Texas
    Open the tray icon, press f5 for the advanced mode.

    Then go to the rule and zone editor to delete any existing rules.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Atomas31

    Atomas31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Posts:
    923
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Ok, thanks!

    I just try it and now, from my PC with ESS (firewall in learning mode) I can see and open files from my laptop. In return, from my laptop I can see the shared folder from my PC but still can't access it even with ESS firewall in learning modeo_O But if I disable ESS firewall, no problem!
     
  9. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,719
    Location:
    Texas
    Do you have allow sharing checked? Click the setup button in the screenshot.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Atomas31

    Atomas31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Posts:
    923
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Yes, I had already checked sharing...
     
  11. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,719
    Location:
    Texas
    Looks like a case for ESET. I see no reason for ESS to block your access if it works without ESS.

    If you are setup correctly for file sharing, I really don't know what the problem could be. :doubt:
     
  12. pmcleod

    pmcleod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Posts:
    1

    If it helps any, probably not much but I have ESS and network magic pro running with no problem, I had to use learning mode, which popped up confirmation boxes, say allow and remember to these and it runs fine here, vista to xp, xp to xp, xp to vista, 4 PC's all connecting to e4ach other, all have ESS on
     
  13. Atomas31

    Atomas31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Posts:
    923
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Thanks Ronjor for your help,

    Hi pmcleod, the problem is even if I use learning mode, I received no popped up confirmation boxes... and everything reletad to network magic is allow?!?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.