ESS firewall blocks google servers !

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Escuro Anjo, Jul 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Escuro Anjo

    Escuro Anjo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    Hello,

    i have so wired situation, i had windows xp for so long time with ESS with out facing any real problem then i upgraded to windows 7 for two days ago and the problems keep coming from that date :D ..

    the problem is :
    ESS firewall blocks any thing belongs to google servers ( that's what i realize i'm not a professional and may be i'm wrong )

    what i see :
    when the firewall is on : there is some problems loading the following pages ..
    www.google.com :
    - sometimes doesn't load at all
    - sometimes stuck at clients1.google.com

    www.youtube.com :
    - sometimes doesn't load at all
    - sometimes the preview images for the videos doesn't load at all
    - stuck at *.ytimg.com

    any other pages :
    - sometimes stuck at some address if the page has google adsense or something like that .
    - slow loading of the page .

    when the firewall is off :
    internet browsing become smoother than before ( when the firewall is on )

    there was so much problems with the firewall last night but today when it did an update to Personal firewall module: 1060 (20100507) some problems solved like the pages doesn't load at all but there is some problems still on .

    some additional information for my PC :
    Processor : Intel(R) Celeron(R) D CPU 3.06GHz
    Memory (RAM) : 1.00 GB
    Graphics : Intel(R) 82945G Express Chipset Family
    OS : Windows 7 Professional
    System type : 32-bit operating system
    Number of processor cores : 1
    Network Adapter : Atheros L2 Fast Ethernet 10/100Base-T Controller

    [EDIT]
    - i uninstalled win7 back to xp
    - the new problem that ESS can't update causes by the firewall !! stop the firewall and try to update and the update process will work like charm .

    Thanks everyone .
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2010
  2. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Hello,

    When you upgraded to Win 7 did you fully remove ESET Smart Security?

    I would recommend downloading a fresh copy of ESET Smart Security and saving it. Next, uninstall your current Smart Security and then perform your upgrade to Win 7. Finally, you can then navigate to your save Smart Security installer and run it to install Smart Security.

    Please use the following tool to fully remove all traces of Smart Security before performing your upgrade:

    http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN2289

    Thank you,
    Richard
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    I'd suggest enabling logging of blocked connections in the IDS setup, reproduce the problem and post here the relevant entries from the firewall log.
     
  4. Escuro Anjo

    Escuro Anjo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    @ Rmuffler:
    i'm using XP now and i formatted the c: partition before installing xp .. i'll keep watching the problem and telling you the news .. anyway the problem seems to be quite now but if it come back i'll completelly remove ESS and make fresh install of it .
    Thanks for help .

    @Marcos:
    i turned this feature on and i'll watch for the logs right now there is nothing important blocked connections .. i'll keep you up to date .

    Thanks for you both :) .
     
  5. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    off topic

    Isn't that a bit too low on RAM for Win 7?
    Well, I leave that to Win 7 users.
    Anyway, you're back to XP for now as I understood.

    Back to topic now ;)
     
  6. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Windows 7 System Requirements
     
  7. goooog

    goooog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    It is a bad news.
     
  8. Escuro Anjo

    Escuro Anjo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    @FanJ:
    that's what i relize after using it :) .. i'm now with XP but the firewall still buggy !
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.