ESS causes reboots

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by SBMongoos, Nov 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    215
    I would like to install ESS as I do like it. Works great on my laptop. However, when I install it on my desktop it causes problems. Right after install I'm okay but if I reboot or turn on PC after shutting down after initial install the PC simply is in a reboot loop. Once I uninstall it the problem goes away. If I install NOD32 I do not have this issue. I would like to figure this problem out

    Any ideas?
     
  2. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,856
    Sounds a bit like some compatibility issue with the firewall. Have you tried updating your NIC (Network Interface Card) drivers?

    I'm assuming you're using the latest 3.0.672.0 version of ESS?
     
  3. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    215
    Yes, on the version.

    I'll check on the NIC but I think I have the latest already. How would this cause an issue?

    I updated to a driver dated 8/2008. However the problem still exists.
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2008
  4. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Is there (or was there) other security software on your desktop computer before you installed ESET Smart Security? If so, what was it?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  5. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    215
    Been using NOD32 for a while. It works fine.
     
  6. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    There could be another application present which is conflicting with ESET Smart Security. Try downloading a copy of ESET SysInspector from ESET's web site, creating a log file and mailing it to support@eset.sk with the URL to this message thread for assistance in reviewing the log file by one of ESET's engineers.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  7. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    215
    Did that and never heard back. They asked for another and I stated it would be identical to the one I had just sent and that was the end of the support.

    Nice.
     
  8. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Just to confirm, did you send it to eset.com or eset.sk?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky

     
  9. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    215
    Looks like:

    ESET Customer Care [mailto:ccreply@eset.com]
     
  10. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Please try contacting ESET's technical support department using the other email address.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  11. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    215
    Actually, there's already an open ticket but it's been open forever it seems. Apparently they don't have any ideas. I'm also work with a VAR of theirs that's been trying to get them to respond as well.

    :mad:
     
  12. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    I've asked ESET's support department to escalate the issue.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  13. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    215
    Thanks! But, how do they know who I am?
     
  14. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    They will probably ask you via the private messaging subsystem of the forum software.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky

     
  15. unclejohn

    unclejohn Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    Hi SBMongoos, can I have a look at the sysinspector-log? Or if you like to, you can contact me directly using PM. No tickets, no proxies, just direct cooperative help from HQ ;)

    Jan Balaz
    ------------------------------
    Technical Support Department
    ------------------------------
    ESET, spol. s r. o.
    Aupark Tower, 16th floor
    Einsteinova 24
    851 01 Bratislava
    Slovak Republic
    ------------------------------
    www.eset.eu
     
  16. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    215
    Left you a PM the other day.
     
  17. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    215
    Bump

    Check your PM.
     
  18. unclejohn

    unclejohn Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    I'm back again, sorry for the delay, please check your PM-inbox.
     
  19. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    215
    Any news on the log file?
     
  20. unclejohn

    unclejohn Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    I've been out of office for a while, sorry. Here is what I have until now:

    - You are running tons of software on your computer (which makes analysis really demanding), and some of the programs operate background processes that might interfere with functions of ESS
    - Here is a list of conflicting candidates, descending severity:
    1. AdAware with running AdWatch/RegShield
    2. SuperAntiSpyware
    3. iTunes + Quicktime + Bonjour service
    4. WindowBlinds
    5. Symantec pcAnywhere
    6. PowerAlert
    7. YahooWidgets
    8. Acronis Suite

    - In my testing environment, the aforesaid list together with jre-6-update7 (required for PowerAlert) allowed ESS to install, but the subsequent attempt to update ESS (usually started after reboot) resulted in frozen computer
    - Your \WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts shows many garbage entries - is it possible, that your computer was recently or still is infected?
    - If your computer was locked in an endless rebooting cycle after installing ESS, then how did you succeed in creating a sysinspector-log, where I can see the ESS-kernel together with ESS-gui running?
    - I would preemptively recommend to update your flash card reader drivers
    - Have you been using SpyBot-S&D in the past? Did you remove it completely, or are you still running this software?
    - Is it possible, that you were previously using the NOD32fix to hack the trial version?
     
  21. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    215
    1-8 are all running on my laptop and ESS runs fine on my laptop.

    As for the HOSTS file I understand that Spybot is making additions by blocking sites via adding this info to the HOSTS file. When I look at the ends of the long lists in the HOSTS file it says "# End of entries inserted by Spybot - Search & Destroy".

    As for rebooting and the Sysinspector log. I uninstalled ESS in Safe Mode and then installed NOD32 to have something in place, then ran the Sysinspector. I have a license.

    Flash card driver update - that would help?

    As for a log with ESS and the GUI - not sure how to pull that off. I guess I could install ESS again and then run the Sysinspector right away and not reboot if asked. Then uninstall in Safe Mode, yada yada - fun fun.

    Using Spybot S&D. I update it and run it manually.
     
  22. unclejohn

    unclejohn Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    - You say, you replaced ESS crashing your system with NOD32 "to have something in place". Does it mean, just for clarification, that ESET NOD32 Antivirus v.3.0 runs fine on your computer?
    - If you are convinced, that your software-combination should not really be a source of conflicts, then we will need to inspect the full memory-dump right after ESS invokes the restart. Please verify, that your settings are like the attached image shows. Install ESS (latest version = 3.0.672.0), wait for the crash and let it create the dump-file. Then compress it (rar, zip, 7zip, ...) and upload it to our ftp. I will forward the ftp-site credentials, once the file is ready. Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

    • ssh1.png
      ssh1.png
      File size:
      16.7 KB
      Views:
      260
  23. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    215
    "- You say, you replaced ESS crashing your system with NOD32 "to have something in place". Does it mean, just for clarification, that ESET NOD32 Antivirus v.3.0 runs fine on your computer?"

    Correct, I have not issues with NOD32 on my desktop just ESS.

    I'm not necessarily convinced to rule out the software. The system with this problem and the one running ESS without issue are very similar in regards to what is installed.

    Currently, my system is set to dump the pagefile. Is that a problem with trying your method to get the "dump-file"?
     
  24. unclejohn

    unclejohn Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    Fine, then we can narrow the problem to the firewall-modules. Nevermind, regarding the dump-settings, it's important, that the "Automatically restart"-option is unchecked and creating a full memory-dump is critical. Mini-, or kernel-dump is insufficient. Uncompressed, it should have the size of your entire operating memory.
     
  25. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    215
    So it's clear is this what you want me to do:

    1. Uninstall NOD32 and then reinstall ESS
    2. Uncheck the Automatically Restart option
    3. This will create the log you want

    Like I mentioned the PageFile is set to dump when I shut down. Will this be a problem for this process?

    I'll need to switch back to NOD32 to not get stuck in the boot loop.

    What will be the name of this log so I can find it? I assume it will be sitting at the root directory.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.