ESS 6RC+Win XP

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus/Smart Security Beta' started by Nerius, Sep 12, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nerius

    Nerius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    Lund, Sweden
    Installed ESS6 RC today, sep 12:th, updated it with the latest
    pre-release in setup.
    Worked fine all day till tonight, it just froze on desktop.
    Forced to hard reboot, and finally had to uninstall it with eset uninstall tool.

    No idea why it suddenly froze up.

    Since it froze, i couldn't send any info from ESS6 for analyse.
    Info i can give i used/use: Clean install. Win xp pro SP3. x58 chipset.
    and pre release updates in ESS6 rc. Marvell NIC.
    All drivers latest in my system.

    Installed back v4 again, and it works so fine again.

    Question: Must i upgrade to v5 or v6, or is v4 protection enough?
    Cus i like v4 best, it never gives any problems.
    (Besides the froze up i liked v6, much better then v5, except all the annoying notification pop-ups in v6)
     
  2. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Not to be on topic 100% but why 11+year old XP?

    I have to assume its XP 32bit as XP 64bit had next to no support.

    On any Windows 32bit OS before Vista your System Memory has to mirror your GPU Memory.

    Basically a peep with your GPU and say 4GB of memory would loose 1.5GB of Memory for the GPU, leaving him 2.5GB for rest of PC.

    Yes you have more Memory but still...

    You really are not getting the best out of your modern hardware, its wasted in fact.
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2012
  3. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    In order to determine why this happened, an ESET support engineer will need to examine an ESET SysInspector log as well as a memory dump from the computer.

    Information on generating a log file and memory dump can be found in the following ESET Knowledgebase Articles:

    ESET Knowledgebase #2219, "How do I create a SysInspector log and submit it to ESET Customer Care for analysis?"

    ESET Knowledgebase #380, "Generating a memory dump file"

    Support in Sweden is available from ESET's Swedish distributor. Contact information is located here on their web site.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  4. Nerius

    Nerius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    Lund, Sweden
    "Not to be on topic 100%" Not on topic for 1 %.
    That was not the "answer" i was looking for.
    I know all that with wasted memory. For several reasons...
    Still despite the memory loss its faster then crappy vista, and i don't like 7. I know for a fact that xp is faster and smoother on my machine, since i have used both vista and 7 on my machine. Not to mention the "save window position" that doesn't work on 7, and i can't work with a OS that doesn't even have save window position. So yes i surely get the best experience
    and work done with xp.

    So no debate about OS, thanks.

    My post is about the ESS6 and not the OS. Since ESS6 is compatible with xp,
    I was leaving this info for ESS6 rc problem with Xp. Nothing else.
     
  5. Nerius

    Nerius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    Lund, Sweden
    Ok, i see.
    Then i will try that when i install it again. Thanks!
     
  6. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow

    I was trying to help and I bet you did not know abuut the GPU memory as most do not (not talking about the 4GB limit), infact that makes it ever more a waste.

    That is what peeps on forums do you know, I set out telling you it was not on topic.

    Appears you know nothing, ahh well your loss.

    Save Window position is bummer but its fixable with a free App.

    I never said Vista or Win 7 were perfect but nor is a fisher price dinosaur.
     
  7. Nerius

    Nerius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    Lund, Sweden
    Yoy wrote:" Not to be on topic 100% but why 11+year old XP?

    I have to assume its XP 32bit as XP 64bit had next to no support.

    On any Windows 32bit OS before Vista your System Memory has to mirror your GPU Memory.

    Basically a peep with your GPU and say 4GB of memory would loose 1.5GB of Memory for the GPU, leaving him 2.5GB for rest of PC.

    Yes you have more Memory but still...

    You really are not getting the best out of your modern hardware, its wasted in fact."

    LoL.
    And you call that "helping". Old news about memory loss on 32bit OS.
    How does that help about my topic. Yes i knew about the GPU memory.
    Obviously you don't know anything, so why reply to my thread then. eh.
    Professionals on forums talks about the bug or issue in question.
    Neither ShellFolderFix or WinSize2 worked any good on my windows 7 when i had it installed.

    Eset Moderator you may delete this thread as i have received help about this issue from ESET's Swedish distributor.
     
  8. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I'd been using WinXP until a month ago so it's not that weird I'd say :) Now back to the topic. If you experience a system lockup on a regular basis, configure Windows to generate kernel memory dumps as per the instructions here. When the system locks up, trigger BSOD by holding Ctrl and pressing Scroll Lock twice which will generate a memory dump. The dump will most likely reveal the cause of lockups.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.