ESS 642 won't install

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by psychokilla, May 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. psychokilla

    psychokilla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Posts:
    171
    Hi, I have been switching between NOD32 and Smart Security, I uninstalled NOD32 and restarted the PC, I then tried to install Smart Security but I get the following error page each time, I've even tried to delete the ESET folder altogether but this makes no difference.

    http://i31.tinypic.com/2zs8orq.jpg


    I'm using Windows Vista Ultimate x64 and trying to install the x64 version, Windows Firewall and Windows Defender are both disabled and I've even deleted the ESET folders from the Appdata folder, so any idea why it won't install?

    This is what is left in the folder once it's done...

    http://i29.tinypic.com/2vrtqib.jpg

    I would have liked to install 650 on x64 but there doesn't seem to be one.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2008
  2. psychokilla

    psychokilla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Posts:
    171
    Nothing?
     
  3. xTiNcTion

    xTiNcTion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Posts:
    253
  4. Kosak

    Kosak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    711
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Hi, check if some NOD's parts are correctly removed (check drivers and services). The best will be when you use ESET SysInspector.

    If they exist, I recommend to perform repair installation of NOD32 and then try correctly uninstall product.

    If they don't exist, move ESS installator to C:\, open command line and type this:

    cd\ and press ENTER
    ess_nt64_enu.msi /lvx* installESS.log and press ENTER

    (if you install other language mutation like english, then change "enu" according to your installer)

    Log will be located in C:\ and send it to support[at]eset.com


    Regards
     
  5. psychokilla

    psychokilla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Posts:
    171
    The problem seems to have righted itself, I performed an install of ESS while NOD32 was still installed, it seemed to install as an update, kept the settings and now it "seems" ok. Thanks for the replies guys.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.