ESS 6 beta - Memory Leak

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus/Smart Security Beta' started by EzzO, Jun 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EzzO

    EzzO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    Hello, last 2-3 days, I receive memory leaks by ESET service (erkn.exe)
    ESET eating 592 MB of RAM.
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2012
  2. BALTAGY

    BALTAGY Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    99
  3. EzzO

    EzzO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Posts:
    7
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I can confirm that the issue has been already fixed and will be incorporated in future builds.
     
  5. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Glad to hear this. Thanks Marcos!
     
  6. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    OS Virtual memory Notifications when running the first OD scan after logon.
     
  7. 4L3X

    4L3X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Posts:
    40
    Crazy Ram Usage

    Hi,

    Prior to installing Nod v6 beta i never had any problems with browsing via firefox, and since installing i have had nothing but problems. Have tried disabling and removing all plugins on firefox to see if that made any difference but sadly it just stays the same.

    Had Hips/parental control all switched off and still the same problems.

    Even have lag in the browser while typing this message :( , going to remove v6 beta and go back to older version as its quite unbearable.

    Have included a screenshot that shows that between firefox and nod32 i'm using over 2.5gb of ram. Cpu usage is not high though, but the system lag is terrible. Dont use IE so cannot comment on if this problem is applicable to IE as well. Added a screenshot for info :-*

    http://anony.ws/i/2012/06/23/KD1rR.jpg
     
  8. MinDokan

    MinDokan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Posts:
    44
    Re: Crazy Ram Usage

    Are you using Antivirus or ESS?
    The fact is you are using a beta version and is off course for testing.

    Firefox 12 is having problems too, despite the AV software.
     
  9. 4L3X

    4L3X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Posts:
    40
    Re: Crazy Ram Usage

    Using Antivirus only. Yes i'm aware that its a beta and i thought that i would let the Eset staff that use this forum that i was having a issue with the software.

    Indeed firefox 12 does have issues with ram and i had that problem prior to using EAV(6), where on EAV(5) it would use about 1gb of ram, but it never affected the antivirus itself (ekrn.exe). That would always use around 70/77 mb, then on the beta version is now using over 500mb.

    Only EAV(6) causes this massive increase in ram usage and system slowdown.

    Only posted it for info and to make other users aware that they are not alone on the matter. I did see another post stating that Eset are addressing some memory leaks in v6 and will be rectified on a later release.

    Fingers crossed :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.