ESS 6 and Windows 8.

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus/Smart Security Beta' started by MartinPe, Aug 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MartinPe

    MartinPe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    I know I'm way early about this but, does Eset upcoming ESS 6 will work nicely with Windows 8? Or we will have to wait a bit when the OS is available in october. I may install it sooner since it will be available this month to Technet / MSDN subs.

    Martin.
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    It should work fine with Win8 RTM. Make sure to enable pre-release updates so that modules with full Win8 support are downloaded.
     
  3. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Apart from HIP will not work in RTM
     
  4. Shantanu

    Shantanu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    India
    that's true. not only hips but also many other funtions are not working in win8 rtm. plus constantly crashing. any help?
     
  5. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    Also (a cosmetic issue) the Uninstall icon on the Windows 8 start screen looks pixelated. A higher resolution one would look much better.
     
  6. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow
    ^^ Same with the Notification Area ESS icon if you have DPI set at 120% (possibly other DPI's also) and its mentioned in a thread here.
     
  7. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Please make sure you have enabled downloading of pre-release modules to obtain latest updates for improved Microsoft Windows 8 compatibility.

    Issue with icons and high-DPI settings is under investigation.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  8. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Please make sure pre-release updates are enabled.

    Please let us know about any issues you are experiencing which have not already been reported by other members. Because Windows 8 is so new, it is very important that you provide detailed information about your configuration and how to reproduce the issues.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky


     
  9. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Tonight I made sure (manually) all my Preleases/Latest Product Version etc. settings were checked and ran update and it got a big update (not sure if its one I missed before).

    I then disabled the non functioning HIPS and it asked for a restart so I did so.

    I then enabled HIPS and though it never asked for restart I did so and on start-up HIPS is working in Win 8 64 Ent RTM. :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2012
  10. bodean

    bodean Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    76
    Wonder why you have to disable then re-enable
     
  11. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    It shouldn't be necessary.
     
  12. bodean

    bodean Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    76
    Installed the RC on Windows 8, HIPS was disabled/not working.

    So I rebooted, same thing. So HIPS still not working...and YES, I have pre-release enabled
     
  13. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Can you share the version information for your modules? Accessible in the program's window via Help and Support → About ESET Smart Security 6, and copy and paste the list of Installed Components from the dialog.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  14. bodean

    bodean Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    76
    Virus signature database: 7415 (20120824)
    Update module: 1040 (20120313)
    Antivirus and antispyware scanner module: 1365 (20120724)
    Advanced heuristics module: 1131 (20120823)
    Archive support module: 1149 (2012080:cool:
    Cleaner module: 1057 (20120626)
    Anti-Stealth support module: 1032 (20120806)
    ESET SysInspector module: 1226 (20120809)
    Real-time file system protection module: 1007 (20111129)
    Translation support module: 1074 (20120601)
    HIPS support module: 1055P (20120807)
    Internet protection module: 1042 (20120709)
    Database module: 1022 (20120709)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 24, 2012
  15. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow

    Because it was not "RED" disabled, it was "WHITE" which I assume is not configured, now its "GREEN".
     
  16. Donald?

    Donald? Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    30
    Same here, Error message = "Communication with the driver failed - HIPS does not works."

    ESET 6 RC 32 bits and Windows 8 Pro RTM 32 bits, and same error on 64 editions.
     
  17. bodean

    bodean Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    76
    3 days since post, whats the update?
     
  18. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    HIPS should work provided that:
    1, a supported version of Windows 8 is installed (with RTM it should 100% work)
    2, HIPS module 1055P is installed (currently available on pre-release servers only)

    If you are unsure whether your version of Windows 8 is supported, run "cmd" or "version" and post here the version number. Windows 8 RTM should display "Microsoft Windows [Version 6.2.9200]".
     
  19. Donald?

    Donald? Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    30
    Works fine on 64 bits editions:
    Windows 8 = 6.2.9200
    HIPS = 1055P

    No works on 32 bits editions:
    Windows 8 = 6.2.9200
    HIPS = 1055P
     
  20. crummock

    crummock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    198
    Just to confirm that enabling pre-release updates and getting HIPS module 1055P installed fixed the problem on my Windows 8 RTM x64 machine.
     
  21. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    The issue with 32-bit versions of Windows 8 is under investigation. Thank you for your report.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  22. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    On Windows 8 x86 systems, a reboot may be necessary after upgrading the HIPS module in order for it to be fully operational.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  23. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I got this error on Windows 7 x86 after upgrading from v4. After a computer restart, the error was gone.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.