ESS 5 issue

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by magicase, Oct 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. magicase

    magicase Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    For some odd reason i get the following errors on my laptop but not on my PC with ESET SS 5 64bit.

    The Antivirus and antispyware protectin is disabled and i have to manually start real-time file system protection.

    When i try to open "Enter advanced setup" it comes up with this message - eguiupdate - An unsupported operation was attempted.

    Then the program crashes/hangs and i have to restart and the same thing happens when i try to do it again.

    Can anyone help? Thanks in advance
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,415
    Open the main setup (F5), navigate to Tools -> Diagnostics and select "Complete memory dump" from the drop-down menu. When you reproduce the problem, check the dump folder (displayed in the Diagnostics setup) if a dump was created there.
     
  3. magicase

    magicase Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    When i press F5 it still comes up with the error : eguiupdate - An unsupported operation was attempted.
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,415
  5. magicase

    magicase Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    That didn't help at all unfortunately :'(
     
  6. Gosman

    Gosman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    22
    hi magicase!

    do u have any installed security programs like PC Tools Spyware Doctor? If yes, then try to uninstall it and re-install ESS.. :)
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,415
    If you have Windows 7 or Vista installed, reproduce the crash and, with the crash report on the screen create a dump of egui.exe as per the instructions at http://support.microsoft.com/kb/931673. Then contact customer care and supply them with the dump for perusal.
     
  8. magicase

    magicase Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    I'm using exactly the same programs i'm using on the PC with is only Spybot.
     
  9. magicase

    magicase Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    I have uninstalled over 5 times now with the same problem.

    I might have to do a fresh install of the OS later and hope that fixes the problem.
     
  10. kam27

    kam27 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    I'm having same issue, pls post the solution here if you get one. Thanks.
     
  11. brentqld

    brentqld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1
    I'm having the same issue - still no fix?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.