ESS 5 issue

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by magicase, Oct 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. magicase

    magicase Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    For some odd reason i get the following errors on my laptop but not on my PC with ESET SS 5 64bit.

    The Antivirus and antispyware protectin is disabled and i have to manually start real-time file system protection.

    When i try to open "Enter advanced setup" it comes up with this message - eguiupdate - An unsupported operation was attempted.

    Then the program crashes/hangs and i have to restart and the same thing happens when i try to do it again.

    Can anyone help? Thanks in advance
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Open the main setup (F5), navigate to Tools -> Diagnostics and select "Complete memory dump" from the drop-down menu. When you reproduce the problem, check the dump folder (displayed in the Diagnostics setup) if a dump was created there.
     
  3. magicase

    magicase Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    When i press F5 it still comes up with the error : eguiupdate - An unsupported operation was attempted.
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
  5. magicase

    magicase Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    That didn't help at all unfortunately :'(
     
  6. Gosman

    Gosman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    22
    hi magicase!

    do u have any installed security programs like PC Tools Spyware Doctor? If yes, then try to uninstall it and re-install ESS.. :)
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If you have Windows 7 or Vista installed, reproduce the crash and, with the crash report on the screen create a dump of egui.exe as per the instructions at http://support.microsoft.com/kb/931673. Then contact customer care and supply them with the dump for perusal.
     
  8. magicase

    magicase Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    I'm using exactly the same programs i'm using on the PC with is only Spybot.
     
  9. magicase

    magicase Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    I have uninstalled over 5 times now with the same problem.

    I might have to do a fresh install of the OS later and hope that fixes the problem.
     
  10. kam27

    kam27 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    I'm having same issue, pls post the solution here if you get one. Thanks.
     
  11. brentqld

    brentqld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1
    I'm having the same issue - still no fix?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.