ESS 5 Beta - windows update error 80072F78

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus/Smart Security Beta' started by pbmcmlxxi, May 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pbmcmlxxi

    pbmcmlxxi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Hants, UK
    After installing ESS 5 Beta it caused windows update to stop working correctly.
    It would find updates but it would fail in trying to install them.
    After removing ESS 5 Beta the updates would install.
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If you had v4 installed previously, did all Windows Updates install fine?
     
  3. pbmcmlxxi

    pbmcmlxxi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Hants, UK
    Hi Marcos,
    PC before was clean, no AV or FW.
    Tested/Used on my clean W7 *64 Virtual Machine.

    Updates were working fine prior to Ess 5 Beta install. After install it would download windows updates fine, but windows updates would fail to install ( error 80072F78 )

    I disabled ESS protection, but they still failed to install.
    I removed ESS, rebooted, and ran windows update. The updates installed ok.

    I seems something on ESS stopped the downloaded updates being applied.
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Did you try disabling the firewall as well? You can also try playing with various firewall integration modes to see if it makes a difference.
     
  5. pbmcmlxxi

    pbmcmlxxi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Hants, UK
    I'll have to wait awhile for the next batch of windows updates to be available before playing with firewall config.
    I did not change much out of the box, just for me to be alerted and choose what was allowed to connect to the net etc.

    The issue does not seem to be that Windows update could not connect to the net, indeed it had no problem doing that, the problem seemed to be Eset would stop the updates being applied / thus changing system files.

    Perhaps it's something to do with the 'Advanced HIPS Functionality' doing something to protect system files/registry.

    Thought it best to flag this up encase it is an issue others experience, although obviously it may not be noticed until the next batch of windows updates.

    If time permits will set a new VM in motion, which will require updates - install ESS Beta 5 and see what happens. Will update in due course.
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Theoretically there could have been two problems:
    1, web protection was scanning a large archive which required extracting and scanning each of the files inside, causing Windows Update to time out. In this case, disabling web and real-time protection would have helped.

    2, the firewall detected an attack (e.g. if the DNS replied with more different IP addresses after sending an ARP request). In this case, disabling the firewall would have helped.
     
  7. pbmcmlxxi

    pbmcmlxxi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Hants, UK
    I did Right Click the tray icon and select 'temporarily disable protection' but that option did not resolve the issue. That I would have assumed would have disabled both the options you suggested, firewall and realtime protection.

    I have reset a clean vm and given it another try. Other than the download taking a little longer than usual the updates seem to be being applied ok.

    I think it may have been one of the initial dialogue boxes for one of the system things may not have popped up for a response, however as above by temp disable protection that should have resolved that issue.
     
  8. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    No, this does not disable firewall.
     
  9. pbmcmlxxi

    pbmcmlxxi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Hants, UK
    Well that really is not good. Surely the wording needs to be changed!
    If you say you are 'Temporarily disabling protection' then by true definition you should disable protection. Which in turn would leave you without firewall protection etc. What is the point of having disable protection if your not going to implement what it says?

    Other AV/FW software that has a disable protection option, does exactly that,
    why should/would eset think it's self to be different in that?
    The wording really needs to be addressed. If all that does is disable real time protection perhaps that should be what it says?
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Yes, we're planning to change it to "... antivirus and antispyware protection"
     
  11. Bigcatjosh

    Bigcatjosh Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    Go to "Advanced Setup" and under "Web and email"-->"Protocol Filtering"--> UNTICK "Enable application protocol content filtering"

    Re-enable after updates have completed.

    Disabling personal firewall or web and email settings the in "Basic Setup" does NOT disable protocol filtering. I'd love to get a simple "disable ALL protection and filtering" button somewhere when things like this get in the way. Anyways... Happy Updates.
     
  12. KC4

    KC4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Posts:
    15
    Thanks Bigcatjosh,
    Had the same problem and that method worked fine.
     
  13. MinDokan

    MinDokan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Posts:
    44
    Thanks. This method worked for me too.
    Do we need to report this to devs?

    Nice job with Eset 5.0, despite this particular problem.

    Regards.
     
  14. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    The issue is being looked at. If somebody has computers running Windows 7 with v5 beta and v. 4.2, could you confirm or deny that the issue doesn't occur with v. 4.2 installed?
     
  15. The Nodder

    The Nodder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    UK
    I have this problem also, I'm off to try the solution above.

    The fix above solved my problem too, thanks lots for that.
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2011
  16. IcePanther

    IcePanther Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Posts:
    308
    Location:
    (nearby) Paris, France
    Hi, I've this problem too.

    I had to completely disable the firewall (from the system integration panel) to make it work. I can confirm that v4.2 was able to download the updates correctly.
     
  17. adik1337

    adik1337 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    199
    I had this problem as well on windows 7 x64 sp1 with a fresh install of NOD32 v5 Beta ... above solution works fine.
     
  18. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    THANK YOU for this solution! After unticking, updates went right in!
     
  19. dorgane

    dorgane Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Posts:
    362
    hi,

    i have this issue too !

    winupdate.jpg

    after, do :

    it is run ;)
     
  20. rothko

    rothko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    UK
    My laptop running 4.2 updated fine, the laptop running V5 experienced the issue reported here. Un-ticking 'Enable application protocol content filtering' on V5 allowed the updates to download and install ok.
     
  21. Hagla007

    Hagla007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Posts:
    49
    I can confirm that. By the way, I'm running Nod32, not Smart Security.
     
  22. dorgane

    dorgane Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Posts:
    362
    Me too, because, i trying Mageia (linux os), i had formated for re-install W7 64bits and i install directly Eset 5
     
  23. Matthijs5nl

    Matthijs5nl Guest

    I can report (like I did in the general threat) that on my Dutch Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1 pc ESS beta blocks three Windows Updates, I have never experienced such problems with 4.2.

    EDIT: I can also confirm that temporarily disabling protocol filtering allows me to install the updates.

    Next to that, me and some others, reported that if you upgrade from 4.2 to 5 beta Web and email protection is Non-Functional after the upgrade process has been completed, I think the problem also lies in the protocol filtering. Since I remember that after the process had been completed it threw a popup with saying that protocol filtering wasn't functional. And the error messages, and checked/unchecked options and unavailable option of ThreatSense engine parameter setup in Web access protection in the advanced setup tree were looking identical as what it did look like after my pc has rebooted for Windows update (so protocol filtering was still disabled then).
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 11, 2011
  24. wrathchild

    wrathchild Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    170
    Location:
    Neoplantesis
    Same here, disabling protocol filtering did the trick.
    No problems with ESS 4.2
     
  25. yongsua

    yongsua Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Posts:
    474
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Same here too.:)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.