ESS 3.0 compared to Comodo Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by MrMonk, Nov 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MrMonk

MrMonk Registered Member

I've been a registered user of NOD32 AV for a couple of years and am very happy with it. Alongside that, I used Zone Alarm Free Firewall, but dumped that last year and have been using Comodo Firewall Pro since, which has always worked well alongside NOD32 AV.

Now that ESS 3.0 is out, my question is simple really .. Would you recommend migrating my licence from just NOD32 AV to NO32 ESS 3.0 as it's a pretty decent upgrade offer and have all my eggs in the same basket so to speak.

How does NOD32 ESS Firewall compare to Comodo for instance (I've got a Netgear DG834GT Router which is what connects me to the t'interweb). I'm not too technically minded when it comes to configuring specific ports etc and just want something that does what it says on the box and keeps me nice and secure, showing me what apps are trying to connect so I can allow or deny, and logs any intrusion attempts.

Any guidance and recommendations as to whether I should stop dilly dallying and get NOD32 ESS 3.0 :)

2. MasterTB

MasterTB Registered Member

Well the Intrussion Detection on Comodo is very basic compared to ESS. If I read the help corrected, ESS checks the content of every packet sent or received from the internet, whinch assures that it is safe, Comodo does not, It just checks for inconsistances on the protocols and stuff but not the actual packets being transmited.
    On the other hand ESS won't pass any leak tests because it does not have HIPS like comodo V3 will have or like in some measure comodo V2.4 has. That being said ESS approach is not to let you download or run anything that compromise your security so that you don't need a HIPS because everithing on your machine is safe.