ESET, We need an upgrade. Please!

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Vicky1, Dec 4, 2007.

?

Are you happy with NOD32 v3 performance?

  1. Yes, fully happy!

    44 vote(s)
    18.5%
  2. Somewhat happy!

    48 vote(s)
    20.2%
  3. No, I am not happy. I am either downgrading to 2.7 or installing some other AV

    126 vote(s)
    52.9%
  4. Its OK for me, I am neutral.

    20 vote(s)
    8.4%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vicky1

    Vicky1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Posts:
    33
    Really.

    I purchased NOD32 v3 and now tired of it completely. A lot of people recommended me to use NOD32 (they recommended when latest was 2.7) .. and I ditched Norton and came to this.

    Now, I am tried of it .. mainly because of two things.

    1) So-called 'Web Access Protection' and routing whole traffic through ekrn.exe by acting as server, proxy .. whatever.

    I, personally vouch for specialist standalone and independent programs for different functions like for example anti-virus, firewall, antispware, etc. instead of a 'Do-it-all' Jack.

    2) Too much slow startups, yes too much. Checkout the forums and everyone is complaining about it. Everyone says Norton slows down the system, but I am really finding NOD32 v3 slowing down even more. Slow starts, slow loading of every application, slower copying and stuff.


    Pleease ESET, Would you kindly get us rid of both problems?
     
  2. OHM

    OHM Guest

    I hope ESET does everything to satisfy their clients.
     
  3. Vicky1

    Vicky1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Posts:
    33
    Please vote people. It will at least tell everyone how good/bad this version is.

    Hopefully :)



    I just don't understand one thing. o_O

    Why don't a software company created a decent basic version of an application and also offer different addons .. for example, "Web Access Protection", "Email Protection", in this case, for free? So that only interested people download and load the addons into main application.

    I am dead sure 90% of the NOD32 users are not using this ekrn.exe thingy.

    I am lost in NOD32 v3 :(
     
  4. ASpace

    ASpace Guest



    This is not a bug and there is nothing to be fixed here . This is by design .


    It must be something else in your system . I have installed it on many clients' machines and nobody experiences slow downs with it . My laptop is an old one - 512 Mb RAM , 1 Ghz processor on XP SP2 and there is no slow start-up , no slow down .


    With the license of Eset Antivirus you have , you can use any version that you want , that works for you - they allow you use v2.5 , 2.7 or v3 . If you have problems with v3 , I recommend you download v2.70.39 and use it on your computer. Both versions provide equal protection when it comes to viruses , threats .

    Make sure you run Symantec's Norton removal tool (google it)


    P.S. I am somewhat happy . There are many things to be improved (which is a public secret) but generally it is in the middle , I got used to it and I am sure ESET are working hard to improve their products
     
  5. Vicky1

    Vicky1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Posts:
    33
    What is a bug? If the design is not suitable to a large number of clients, I'd call it bug as well.
    Seriously.

    This ekrn.exe is taking out control from yourself and from your firewall.

    I have 3.05 GHz and 1.5GB RAM WinXP .. I don't think its insufficient for NOD32. If you still don't think NOD32 is the reason of slower startups, try searching this forum section for "startup" .. and you will see.

    Ah! I forgot that .. just doing it.

    Thanks :)
     
  6. ASpace

    ASpace Guest


    You forgot it , let's see the result after that :thumb: Of course your setup is more than sufficent for EA , just there can a conflict between it and another start-up entry . If you manage to find the conflict area , you can exclude it from scanning and voalla - no more problems
     
  7. Vicky1

    Vicky1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Posts:
    33
    Just done running removal tool. Also disabled scheduler entry from scanning startup files.

    Restarting now .. will update.
     
  8. Eclipse99fwb

    Eclipse99fwb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    Lakewood, CO
    What he means by something on your system, is another program is either conflicting with NOD32 or is causing the slow startup itself. I agree with HiTech Boy, I too have seen 100+ clients running NOD32 3.0 and no slow start ups. Why this might be annoying, a little testing will allow you to narrow down what program is causing this. Every slow startup problem I've helped a customer out with, ended up being a program that had nothing to do with NOD32. And just to drive this point home, my fiances parents computer has 700,000+ files on it, this past weekend I just installed NOD32 3.0 on it, while the scan may take a hour, its is 100% faster than the Norton they had on it. I even timed the start up time it took, it went from 5-7 minutes to load everything with Norton, to 1-2 minutes with NOD32 installed.

    edit: didn't see the other replies, Norton being left behind is more than likely your problem.
     
  9. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    The start-up scan may occur important in some cases when the real-time file system protection has missed something (because of variety of reasons) . I would recommend you enable it (at least the one that is done after updates) and lower its priority to "when idle" , so only when your system is idle , the scan will be performed
     
  10. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    Hope eset see the results :D

    I wont ever be using 3 again. BUT 2.7 is fantastic and will do me until my sub ends in Nov 2008.
     
  11. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Don't be so sure :D ;)
     
  12. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    Oh i am sure, the whole last 5 weeks have put me right off ever going near it again. 2.7 does it all,and i dont need graphical fluff, just a solid decent A.V. ;)

    Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm
    Unless by some miracle an update comes out that fixes all the "bings" etc.
    I still have it on one machine.... and i would rather stick with eset to be honest. ;)
     
  13. Capp

    Capp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,125
    Location:
    United States
    I have to agree with HiTech and Eclipse. I have v3 on all my systems and dozens of clients and I have not seen a single instance of a slow startup. It takes the same amount of time it did with v2.7. I even run ESS on some of my personal systems and haven't had any of the problems people report on the forums.

    I have worked with other clients that insist it has slowed their system down, and of course, after I looked at it, realized that they had all kinds of other things on their system that was slowing down their system. They were quick to apologize too.

    I don't mind the new interface, but I didn't mind the old one either.

    I've been selling NOD32 licenses for over 3 years now and have not had 1 unsatisfied customer yet.
     
  14. Vettetech

    Vettetech Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    339
    I am so amazed at peoples complaints. I have no slow start ups. No slow downs with web surfing. No problems at all using NOD32 3.0. I have a 2.8 P4 with 1 gig of ram and a 7800GS Superclocked. I also have all nessary services shut off and the only things that load on start up, that my systray are NOD32,Online Armor and my Logitech G15 keyboard software. I have defragged with Perfectdisk 8 and also did an offline defrag for my boot up files. My NOD32 3.0 runs perfect.Also clean out your prefetch folder to reset all your start up programs. First start up will be very slow then after that should be all set.
     
  15. nodyforever

    nodyforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    PT / Lisbon
    Alone I have a thing to point what me happens in the XP For Sp2 with the same configurations of Vista:

    Vista:

    GUI: 552k

    Kernel: 17Mb


    Xp Pro SP2:


    GUI: 7MB

    Kernel: 37MB


    Will there be apparent reasons for this "jumping" in the memory?



    ----------------------and------------------------


    Alone thought like the previous version that it was happening the
    same thing is when import in my options the GUI it is not much crazy
    in the term in which the window or it is completely white or does
    refresh sometimes but not at all of serious one believe myself to be
    them what is much better than the previous one.
     
  16. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    Bugs, eye hurting blurry text, firewall shutting off randomly.. oh its great.
     
  17. Sir George

    Sir George Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    If you have all necessary services shut off, I am surprised your system even runs, but good for you. :D
     
  18. Vettetech

    Vettetech Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    339

    LOL I meant unnecessary. Should have checked my typos.
     
  19. EvilDave UK

    EvilDave UK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Posts:
    275
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I'm an ESET Reseller and I'm afraid to say I have stopped rolling out EAV 3.0 to clients due to the number of bugs EAV has to date. I never thought I'd be dissing ESET because they usually do a good job, but I'm afraid I have no choice.
     
  20. nodyforever

    nodyforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    PT / Lisbon

    I make friends all the companies or enterprises wander in the distance of his life, but that does not invalidate that they are one stick for the life all, at this moment his version 3 is a "state of alert" so that they never again repeat what they made before the product not be completely be prevejos critical and clear as it is usual there will be able always to be one I predict juvenile but not in this dimension.


    Since it was already told in other post the ESET it is working in a new version .... remain for us to wait for his launch and meanwhile what will have with bigger problems can always use his version 2.7 that as his time has still a support of long standing.


    We are going to maintain attentive because the ESET will always surprise us.
     
  21. mickhardy

    mickhardy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    Australia
    I'm fully happy. Been testing since the business version was released. No issues on Vista or XP. About to rollout across three small Networks.
     
  22. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    I dont have slow start issues either, my only real gripes is the many Outlook Express bugs which still arent fixed and possible slowdown of websites and pages.
    By the way Vettetech, i didnt mean any offense in asking about your link, which i later checked out ! and Online Armor does indeed look very good. :)
     
  23. Vettetech

    Vettetech Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    339
    Thats ok none takin. As far as Outlook I am not sure. I stopped using Outlook years ago and only use web based email. I have AT&T DSL so I use Yahoo email. Maybe all you people having issues with NOD32 should look at what else may be conflicting. I use FF and like I said I have no speed issues at all. As in matter of fact its faster then when I was using AVG Free and Avast. If you want to try slow get KAV.
     
  24. EvilDave UK

    EvilDave UK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Posts:
    275
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    nodyforever, what on earth are you going on about? Your post made absolutely no sense whatsoever!
     
  25. nodyforever

    nodyforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    PT / Lisbon

    sorry my english :( I speak portuguese ermmm
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.